Humor

Knick-Knack Paddywhacking, Ranked by Difficulty

I have no idea what it is, but I’ll be damned if that stops me from ranking it

Chris Eno McMahon
Greener Pastures Magazine
3 min readNov 15, 2021

--

By NutbrownFan100 for KKPW

10. (Least difficult) Up in Heaven

This is a controversial call. “You’ll need to have at least a near-death experience to get in on this kind of extreme knick-knack,” you say. “Flatlining isn’t something you should mess around with.” But hear me out.

This man is old. He probably made it to Heaven from a completely unrelated event, maybe a mini stroke. And once you’re in, the knick-knack playing is a cinch.

9. Once again

I don’t know where knick-knack is being played in this scenario, but this old man is no longer a novice. He’s got a system worked out.

8. On my gate

Still simple and low-risk. He could be playing knick-knack out there right now and I’d be none the wiser.

7. On my sticks

Once this old man gets past my gate, he’ll have to bend down to play on the sticks. He might be slow getting back up, but he’ll likely have plenty of time to do it without getting caught. I hardly ever go in my yard this time of year.

--

--

Chris Eno McMahon
Greener Pastures Magazine

An MFA and erstwhile Homemaker of the Year whose humor has appeared in McSweeney's, Weekly Humorist, Points in Case, Slackjaw, and many other places.