Humor

The Hero South Africa Needs, But Not The One It Deserves

Dr. Folklore’s Dating Advice for Mythical Folks (№87)

Kegan Witzki
Greener Pastures Magazine
3 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Illustration by Agent Scarlet, Image by pngall, edit by author

Origin Story: In South Africa’s Sotho mythology, nearly all humans had been eaten by a monster called Kammapa (or Kholomodumo), and the only remaining human left was a woman who hid herself in a stable and gave birth to a boy. She named him Ditaolane (or “the diviner”) because he came out of her womb wearing a necklace of divining charms and almost instantaneously grew into an adult human. When his mother described the current state of the world, he immediately sought after Kammapa with a knife in hand, was swallowed whole, and then slashed the beasts’ belly from the inside, freeing all the people still alive. The rescued people feared him for being able to defeat such a monster and tried to kill him in numerous ways, though how he died or fled varies from story to story.

Dear Dr. Folklore,

When I walked out of my mother's womb about a week ago to save the world, I did not fear death; I welcomed it.

However the very people I saved now hunt me down… maybe because they know I can take it. Because to them I’m not their hero. I’m merely a monster meant to fend against monsters…and if that image is what will make them feel more at ease with me, I need…

--

--