Humor

The Trick To Writing Stellar Book Submission Letters

Connect with agents and editors like these authors did

Gail Gauthier
Greener Pastures Magazine
2 min readMay 18, 2023

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I noticed on your publishing site that you’re based in Chicago, which is crazy because I drove around Chicago once. Also, I’ve been in your airport.

It looks like you’re actively seeking middle grade horror with family settings. I live that. I have enough material for a series.

Unlike other agents, you don’t use the words “gorgeous” or “lush” when describing the kind of writing you’re looking for. As it turns out, I have a manuscript that is neither of those things.

I’m sending you this historical romance about a road trip through a sandstorm because it matched your interests at your Manuscript Wish List entry last week, before you changed it.

I heard through a mutual acquaintance whose name I’ve forgotten that you ship flowers to your writers when their new books publish. I like flowers.

I’m submitting to you because I see you are interested in feminist themes and stories that portray females dealing in powerful ways with life’s most difficult moments. I believe my picture book manuscript does all that.

--

--