HUMOR

Totally Valid Excuses Why You Can’t Attend Your Former College Roommate’s Ex-girlfriend’s Zoom 30th Birthday Party Next Tuesday at 7pm

In the pandemic, the usual excuses just don’t work…

Gwen Summers
Greener Pastures Magazine

--

Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

During Covid, everyone thinks you’re free all the time, sitting around waiting for them to invite you to screen-time events that you would never have attended in real-life.

The usual excuses don’t work anymore.

Instead try these totally believable ones…

· “My dog ate my computer.”

· “I’m actually already attending another college roommate’s ex-girlfriend’s zoom 30th birthday party next Tuesday at 7pm.”

· “Tuesday is Day 2 of my Master Juice Cleanse, unfortunately, and I would just feel bad flaunting my lemon and cayenne water and newly Beyonce-esque figure in front of everyone.”

· “I have a grub-hub delivery coming then, and I think the delivery guy likes me — so I really owe it to myself to give that relationship my all.”

· “I could try to come on split screen but my niece/ neighbor/ tree-surgeon’s daughter is in a zoom nativity/ Easter/ Broadway production and I’m already split-screening with my 90-year-old grandma’s birthday party then.”

· “I’d love to but I’m already busy then. I volunteered to sew masks for homeless iguanas.”

· “Unfortunately I have to watch the New Jersey Housewives Season 2 Reunion for the 37th time…. My marriage is fine, why do you ask?”

· “I have already scheduled a home-school teacher- parent conference then.… Umm, yes, with myself but I have a lot to discuss.”

· “My shrink said I need to engage in self-care, and I really don’t think people need to see me doing that….Uh-uh I guess you’re right, I should’ve asked my shrink to define ‘self-care’ more clearly.”

· “I’m starting to feel guilty about drugging my cat, but otherwise she becomes quite the exhibitionist on zoom.”

· “Time zones are super-not-my-thing, but since I live in Chicago and the party is in Vegas, I think I’m still at work when the party is.”

· “I actually have to work then because my boss has started this new ‘evening meeting initiative’ to improve productivity. It seems to involve a lot of ukulele karaoke and I’m not really sure how that’s relevant to marketing, but I am new to the company.”

· “I would love to be there, but my vagina candle just exploded…”

Thanks to the Greener Pastures crew and my workshop friends!

--

--

Gwen Summers
Greener Pastures Magazine

Gwen Summers is the pen name of a physician. She wishes she could tell you who she actually is because she is a brilliant doctor (at least her friends say so!)