Humor

Turtles I’ve Found on the Side of the Road

While driving on backroads in Eastern Kentucky

L.D. Blevins
Greener Pastures Magazine

--

Eastern box turtle, photo by Kerry Wixted (CC BY 2.0 DEED)

Box Turtle

I would have picked it up and moved it off the side of the road . . . if I hadn’t already run over it myself.

Box of Turtles

Whoever abandoned them there was thoughtful enough to poke air holes in the box. Unfortunately, they made the holes big enough for that snake to get inside.

Box of Weed with a Ninja Turtle on It

But it wasn’t nearly as cool as it sounds because they drew Raphael wearing a Confederate flag headband.

Boxing Turtles

The aging champ was paid off to take a fall but his pride kicked in at the last moment and he fought to win. Later on, greasy turtles with lead pipes came for his kneecaps but he just hid inside his shell until they got bored and went away.

Boxer Shorts Worn By Turtle

There was even a little fly in the back for the tail.

Botox Turtle

Now her shell doesn’t have a single wrinkle left on it.

Roblox Turtle

I’m not familiar enough with this IP to really make a joke about it here.

Cockblox Turtle

The one I ran over from before after I told my girlfriend about what happened to it.

Yellow-bellied Slider

A pretty neat turtle!

--

--