Environmental Lessons from My Neighbour Totoro

Why environmentalists enjoy Hayao Miyazaki’s creations.

The Chubby Honu
Greener Together

--

As a child, films produced by Studio Ghibli are the only ones that can capture my wildest imagination. Now, I go back to them when I’m looking to feel comforted or searching for something that makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

One of my favourites is the 1988 film, “My Neighbor Totoro”. Even though it has already been 30 years, its key message on family, friendship, and most importantly the appreciation of the beauty of the natural world are just as relevant today.

Before going any further, be warned of spoilers!

Synopsis of My Neighbour Totoro

The film takes place in rural Japan located in Satoyama, Saitama Prefecture. It‘s the story of two young girls, Satsuki and Mei, who move to a new home in the countryside with their father to be closer to their mother in the hospital. While exploring their new surroundings, the girls discover Totoro, a giant, friendly forest spirit. As they spend time with Totoro and his magical friends, the girls learn to overcome their fears and embrace the…

--

--

The Chubby Honu
Greener Together

Sustainability communicator. Systems thinker in pursuit of interconnectedness in our complex ecosystems.