My journey into the ‘GreenLane’

Rushil Agrawal
Greenlane
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2018

Like many millennials across the world, my priorities in life have recently shifted towards more organic & sustainable living & in turn a healthier lifestyle for myself.

Here’s a recap of what that changed my worldview & made me think Green -

  1. Heavy boozing & drugging during college led me develop quite serious depression & anxiety. Recovery happened through my discovery of Yoga & Meditation. Alls well that ends well they say, as I ended up finding an inner blisfulness and balance that has been quite the blessing.
Its not as hard as it seems ;)

2. This led me to a deeper exploration of the body & mind. Wanting to understand the rhythms of my sytstem I discovered The mind & gut connection. For the first time in my life I started paying attention to what I ate and the impact of different foods on the human system.

The right foods can truly alter mental states

3. Travelling South India, I spent a large amount of time in nature. I saw how the locals lived & were much more conscious than me of their connection with the elements. This in turn led me to a develop fondness for the planet and a realisation of my deep connection with it.

We’re all soil at the end of the day.

4. During a farm visit, I was horrified to witness the extreme adulteration of fruits & veggies that is commonplace in India. Upon returning home, I took it up to grow veggies in my backyard. Within a few months I was cooking my very own homegrown produce.

It really does taste better!

5. I spent a few months volunteering as a teacher in schools in a tribal village, helping give impoverished children a change at a better future. I’d never imagined that working to create a happier & better world could be such an immensely fulfiling experience.

Bundles of joy

This is what let me to build a social venture — GreenLane — a digital community for sustainable living & environmental change.

Many of us want to do our bit to create a greener, happier planet, but often don’t know where to begin. I built GreenLane with the intention of helping people figure out how to do just that.

--

--