A Love Letter to Baltimore 

My 6 reasons for falling in Love with Baltimore this Valentine’s Day 

Alexandria Appah
Greetings from Charm City!

--

Dearest Baltimore,

We only met a few years ago but I think it’s time we take our relationship to the next level. We have had our ups and downs and yet I keep coming back to you. And although I left my heart in San Francisco, you have slowly crept in, wooing me with your small(timore) city Charm.

When we first met, I must admit, I was afraid. I moved here armed with my new degree but without a job, without friends and unsure if I would make it. I first got to know you by binge watching The Wire and meeting people from Hopkins. But let’s be honest, neither really showed me the true you. So over the years I've really try to get to know you. On daily my commute to work through East Baltimore, I am reminded about how much you had been mistreated, abused and abandoned.

My dearest Baltimore, I want you to know that I see you and I accept you for who you really are. So on this Valentine’s Day, I want to tell you all of the reasons I've fallen in love with you over the past 5 years.

6. You have allowed me to fall in love here.

Engagement photo at the B&O Railroad Museum. Photo Credit: Marielle Casanova

When my now-husband and I moved here our relationship was strained. Thanks to you Baltimore, our relationship blossomed and we created a home here. As a young couple, you have afforded us the opportunity to explore and engage with the city without breaking our bank account. From wonderful ethnic dinners at Tabor and The Helmand to incredible free events like First Thursdays and Baltimore Performance Kitchen you allowed us an (affordable) escape the daily stresses of work and school.

5. You are unapologetic about your flaws but ultimately you just need a bit of love.

BELIEVE in Baltimore.

For better or worse your grit and your shine co-exist seamlessly. You are just like the rest of us. You are complicated and struggle to make the right decisions at times but underneath it all you just need a little love and someone to BELIEVE in you. To quote my good friend Kareshma,

“ I ‘get’ Baltimore and Baltimore ‘gets’ me. I don’t have to try be anyone here. It’s the first place I've live in the U.S. where I can just be.”

4. You don’t nag me with a sense of #FOMO (fear of missing out).

Just say “No”!

New York, San Francisco, DC… there’s so much to do, so may people to do it with and everyone is in a rush. No one has time for you because they are double or triple booked and rushing off to the next thing. It’s brunch, the new exhibit at the MET, happy hour, evening SoulCycle, dinner, a club and then the after hours club. Don’t get me wrong I LOVE those cities (well, except for D.C.)! But what I love more is that I don’t have to wait 2 hours for a table at a restaurant, that I don’t ever worry about being “dressed to impress” and I can idly chat with the barista at TriBeca about his new latte art technique with out people being pissed off (in fact, this happened today and the people behind my friend chimed in with questions ☺).

3. You give city residents the permission to be innovative and pursue their passion with fervor.

Photo credit: Natural Hollywood Magazine and Maria Vicencio Photography

Baltimore, one of the things I love the most about you is that you give people the freedom to “make their own fun” and allow the community participate. There’s a blur between those who create and those who participate. I continue to be impressed by ordinary people who decide to make shit happen and passionately rally the community around their cause.

You allow a space for hundreds of organizations, big and small, meaningful and silly to contribute to the rich fabric being a Baltimorean. From The Baltimore Love Project, Station North Tool Library, and growing tech scene to the natural hair community, Stoop Stories, Baltimore Freestore, Baltimore Bike Party and The Book Thing, there is an infinite well of creativity waiting to be uncovered by the people here.

2. You are so silly and don’t take yourself too seriously.

Artscape, Baltimore Kinetic Sculpture Race, HONFest. Need I say more?

Photo Credit: Fayrouz Ashour and Alexandria Appah
  1. Your People.
Photo Credit: Fayrouz Ashour

What is a city without it’s people? As I mentioned, when I moved here 5 years ago, I didn't know a soul. But slowly, you invited me to your cool events, nice restaurants, funky neighborhoods and provided me with the opportunity to truly connect with people and make friends from all over the world. You’ve never allowed me to feel lonely. From chatting with a fellow passenger about the Ravens on the Circulator, hosting an intimate dinner with friends or listening to the realities of my patients struggling with homelessness you continued to make me feel at home. Baltimore, thank you for the past few years; You've been a good friend. From the bottom of my heart, I wish you the best Valentine’s Day.

Love,

Alex

--

--

Alexandria Appah
Greetings from Charm City!

Public health professional,women's health advocate,travel enthusiast, amateur photographer & former dance battle queen. @mixedgirlspeaks @hapaappah