Photo by Malte Wingen on Unsplash

Spotify vs. Apple Music; a decison flowchart made using Lucidchart.

Gretchen Walker
gretchwalk
Published in
3 min readJan 14, 2020

--

I recently switched over from Apple Music to Spotify. Ever since my husband got a Spotify membership, he’s been trying to get me to switch over. I held onto Apple Music for so long because I had had my individual account for a while and built up quite the music collection. Plus, I enjoyed the constant back and forth with my husband, debating which service was better. But it became harder for me to stick up for Apple Music after they introduced a few updates that changed a number of features that I loved about Apple Music. After much thought and deliberation, I decided I would finally convert over to Spotify (much to my husband’s delight.) I found a software that made it easy to transfer playlists and songs from Apple Music to Spotify a couple weeks ago.

I’m still learning how to get into the groove with Spotify. I am liking it! In particular, I have liked listening to the curated playlists based on my listening patterns. It helps me go through lots of new songs and artists to add to my library. After a couple weeks using Spotify, I can’t help but notice that there are some distinct differences between Spotify and Apple Music and that is taking some getting used to.

I have an interview scheduled with Lucid and I wanted a chance to take a look at Lucidchart; a cloud software used to document, share, and optimize processes so teams can communicate clearly, promote understanding, and work together more effectively. So I decided to plot out a flowchart, thinking of music lovers like me who are trying to choose between Apple Music and Spotify.

You can’t decide based on price alone. Both services have competitive pricing, charging $9.99/ month; $4.99 for students and a family plan for up to 6 people making the price $14.99/month. And each offers a library of 50 million + songs.

I enjoyed using Lucidchart to create this flow chart! The software made it easy to move and size shapes and add arrows and text. I like that it makes it easy to collaborate on projects with a team, you are given the ability to make notes, show history of and different layers to the project. You can even easily go into a presentation mode to showcase you and your team’s ideas with others. There was easy access to easy-to-follow tutorials. When looking into colors for your flowchart, you can easily make choices based on different color properties which I thought was a cool feature.

NOTE: All opinions expressed are my own; I did only a small amount of research on the different music streaming services and what differentiates them from one another. If I had more time, I would work to survey music lovers about what is important to them when they are deciding on a place to listen to music. I would then make the flowchart more comprehensive.

Any feedback is welcome! If you’d like to connect, you can reach me at gretchwalk@gmail.com

--

--

Gretchen Walker
gretchwalk

UX Designer with a strong empathic presence. And a collection of sweet tunes, man. Find me at linkedin.com/in/gretchenwalker89/