Grid110 Founder Story: Ezinne from SKNMUSE

Laura Van Wettering
Grid110
Published in
4 min readAug 28, 2020

This month’s Founder Story is about Ezinne, the CEO and Founder of SKNMUSE.

Beauty is culture! Beauty is not a one size fits all type of thing; it requires research, attention to detail, and patience. Our skin is the most complex organ in the body. We dress it up, express ourselves with it, create art through it, and, unfortunately, neglect it.

Ezinne’s first job was in skincare. Behind the counter, she enjoyed watching the gratification women would get when their beauty needs were met. In this world, women were the priority, except Black women. The needs of Black women always seemed like an afterthought. Ezinne remembers having to mix foundations to get the right shade for her clients, or not even have skincare products suitable for their needs. She knew that Black women deserved better and knew that she could take everything she learned from the industry to create a luxury line reflecting Black women and other women of color.

The name SKNMUSE was created because when Ezinne thinks of skin, she thinks of the ultimate muse. SKNMUSE is skincare for the body that provides you your highest form of self-care. They use ancient beauty practices from West-Africa to elevate the beauty experience for women in America. They saw the need for skincare catering to the body, not just the face, and they’ve been conquering it ever since!

To learn more about Ezinne’s entrepreneurship journey, check out the full interview below.

What is your venture? What do you do?

I am the CEO of SKNMUSE, skincare for the body brand.

What prompted you to start your venture?

The beauty industry has always been a cornerstone of the culture of black women; we embody it. The care we invest into our routines, the creams, and textures that blend to nourish the vessels that protect our souls, our coveted recipes from ancient practices. To glow like a black girl requires enormous love. I created SKNMUSE because I wanted to provide that type of love and care.

With SKNMUSE, we produce organic formulas that hydrate, polish and nourish the skin, giving you your best glow.

What’s unique and advantageous about being in LA for you and your venture?

I’m from Nigeria, moved to America by myself at 16, and LA is the 4th major city I’ve ever lived in. Being here allowed me to grow into my purpose, as chaotic as it can feel, there is room for balance here. Being around so many people who are hungry for a legacy and working daily to achieve inspires me and feeds my passion.

As you think back to your Grid110 experience, what are the 1–2 lessons or takeaways that still stick out to you?

There is a distinct difference between working in my business vs. working on it. As a GRID110 founder, I’m able to find a balance between the two and prioritize better. Secondly, it is okay to feel unsteady; everyone is winging it to a certain extent in this journey, and like all journeys, some places can be unfamiliar. But with a good GPS, you can find your way around. :)

Considering what Grid110 provides and offers, what has been the most impactful to you as a founder and business? How has the Grid110 experience influenced your entrepreneurial journey?

The community! I didn’t even know I needed one until I got accepted into the program. Once you become a Griddie, you automatically get plugged in to a great network that you can rely on and trust. I’ve never experienced anything like it, and I am genuinely grateful to be part of such a community.

Now, time for some more FUN questions!

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I wanted to be a lawyer! I was on the debate team, and the problem solver of my family, so in my head, those were the core requirements, LOL. But then I got into college and realized I was not too fond of the educational system and couldn’t commit to 4 more years.

What is your spirit animal?

A shark, which is weird because there is no aggressive bone in my body. However, I have always been intrigued by sharks and drawn to their complexity. I also feel that we might have studied them with a personal agenda, and could do better at discovering a gentler side.

Who is your role model?

I don’t have one per se. For me, it is my circle of girlfriends. Each of them is a star in their own lane. They are doing marvelous things in life with the kindest of hearts.

If you could have a meal with anyone, living or deceased, who would it be and why?

Rihanna, because she is such a multi-talented businesswoman. Every venture that she’s built has been executed flawlessly and authentically. Plus, she’s a fantastic philanthropist.

Wild Round! Please share a random fun fact!

I am a self-taught Chef.

News from SKNMUSE!

Please follow @sknmuse on Instagram for a surprise discount! Huge congratulations to the SKNMUSE team for being featured in Beyonce’s index called the Black Parade Route, which lists amazing Black-owned businesses on her website.

About Grid110

Grid110 provides mentoring and key resources for early-stage entrepreneurs in underserved regions. We support early-stage companies by connecting them to office space, mentors, and important resources during the most critical phase of their business life-cycle through education programs.

--

--