The Bench

Sujan Ali
Grief Book Club
Published in
Jun 1, 2024
Photo by Olesya Grichina on Unsplash

On those first few days, weeks, months after his death
I walked with grief’s heavy dew on my legs, looking for him

My entire piece of palpable Earth became a quest
A lush poem with grand sunsets and colourful flowers

All of this beauty, trying to take the place of he,
The Earth that he was, in an average man’s body

And failing miserably

So, I stopped and settled on a bench near my home
To sit still and listen instead

This bench, which became my pilgrimage
This bench, which became my first home
After he departed

And where I learned the saddest of lessons:

That after the world has ended
And our holy war with loss begins
A sacred space is all there is left

To find

© 2024 Sujan Ali. All Rights Reserved

--

--