Untethered

MW🌙
Grief Book Club
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2024

Poem

Photo by Ian Wetherill on Unsplash

A few seconds ago,

your presence surrounded me,

gently I slid into the unknown.

This was enough to remind me that

a few minutes ago,

we sat together in silence

breaking into a plate full of pain.

Two discomposed souls feeding from each other.

We devoured a meal served for three.

We sat there like two souls ravening for time.

An hour ago,

you told me you loved me.

Yes, but

not with words.

You stared into my eyes,

as if you lost track of time.

You stared at me like this was the last sight you would ever see.

You stared at me like you wanted to tell me

about love.

How frighteningly fulfilling it is to fall…

from a cliff.

A day ago,

the creases on the corner of your eyes

looked like a folk tale that would be told

to generations.

When you held my hand

that night,

it felt like our last dance together.

The dance floor awaited us

but there was not enough time.

We inhaled

and when the wind gently laid us to rest,

we exhaled.

A week ago,

I knew the ground would carry me

it would hold me close,

that I would be cradled by the warmth of the rocks.

Eyes glistening with tears.

You would tell me,

quietly that I made it to my destination.

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

By MW.

--

--