She Calls

George Heimel
Grief Witness
2 min readJun 22, 2019

--

On the morning mist
I taste her summons
Salt tinges the air
Calling my name
She wants to talk
I am torn but comply
I start towards her Beach.

“You call me NOW?”
I demand of her
“O great, patient healer”
“You command MY presence?”

I cross the sand
Approaching gentle surf
My anger begins to boil
I hear my heartbeat
Drumming in my ears.

“Where the fuck were you, THEN?”
I scream over the waves.
I step out into her waters
She recoils as my anger flares
Steam rising where I step
She tries to touch me
Hot fury burns her away

I move further from shore
Yet she can not touch me
Pushed back and burned away
By heated screams
“Where were you when I called?”
“When I needed you most”
“You could have saved him!”

“Where were your siblings?”
“I called on Earth and Air”
“I provided the Fire”
“But I was abandoned in my need”
Steam flashes on all sides
I stand in a crater
Water forced away by my pain

A tear running down my face whispers
“Child”

They pour down my face now
Cooling as they fall
“I am within always”
She sighs

The crater begins to close
No longer blind with Rage
I let her come close
Cool against my burning flesh.
She wears my anger down
“You can not be, without me”
She sings through my skin

I fall to my knees
She rushes to support me
I am engulfed in vast, cold love
And my anger is diluted
Pouring from me into the water
She accepts the toxic stream

Her gentle rocking soothes me
As I allow her to hold me up
“I have born the sorrows of man
before they could even name me”

She gently sets me on the beach
I sit shivering and cold
But never alone.

--

--

George Heimel
Grief Witness

Air force brat, gen-x, RIT grad, gay husband, business owner, baker of pie, Bourbon lover. Writing about things so that it can get less crowded in my head.