Neighborhood Ambassador Recommendations to Keep You Entertained During a Pandemic

Erika Byrne
Griz Renter Blog
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2020
Your friendly Neighborhood Ambassadors on our weekly Zoom meeting!

Seeing as everyone’s spending a lot more time indoors due to the Coronavirus pandemic, your friendly Neighborhood Ambassadors wanted to compile a list of our top entertainment recommendations, from movies to podcast and more! We know that self-isolation can be boring (scratch that — very boring) but it’s something we need to do for the health and safety of others. Plus, with everyone stuck at home, there’s no better time to start that show you’ve always wanted to watch or try a new hobby you’ve never had the time to attempt. To see our personal recommendations, keep reading!

TV SHOW

Ozark

Ozark Season 3 Official Trailer. Via YouTube

I’m watching Ozark season 3 right now. It doesn’t have anything to do with quarantine, but it came out recently and I’m a fan. It has similarities to Breaking Bad, but is still very unique. It’s very well-made with many deep levels to the plot, and can be very intense. -Imaad

Narcos Mexico

Narcos: Mexico Season 2 Official Trailer. Via YouTube

I have been watching Narcos Mexico. It’s a pretty good show and I am almost done with the first season. I like that it is somewhat historically accurate. -Rhys

MOVIE

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

The Lord of the Rings Ultimate Trilogy Trailer. Via YouTube

As a self-identified cinephile, being unable to go to the movie theatre has been disappointing to say the least. Since I can’t go watch new movies in theatres, I’ve turned back to some old favorites. And personally there’s no better place to start than the age-old classic trilogy: LotR. These movies have offered a much needed escape from reality these past few weeks. If you love action, romance, adventure, and a good laugh every now and then, these movies are for you! -Erika

MUSIC

Dance Monkey — Tones and I

Tones and I — Dance Monkey. Via YouTube

I have been enjoying listening music with my sister. One of our favorite is Dance Monkey by Tones and I. Music was always something we listen to as a family and it takes away alot of stress. Its funny to have a mini dance party in the living room. -Marley

BOOK

Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer

I have been using this extra time inside to get back into reading. Right now, I am re-reading one of my favorites Into The Wild. I love it because it’s based off of a true story and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading! -Emma

PODCAST

Unlocking Us with Brené Brown

Unlocking Us with Brené Brown! I think she is brilliant and her interviews are the perfect antidote for right now. -Chloe

HEALTH AND WELLNESS

Gardening

Neighborhood Ambassador Anna with her house plants

Recently, I have been spending a lot of extra time taking care and learning more about my plants. My favorite is my rubber tree plant! I only have a few, but having green and healthy little guys around you during this time is heartwarming. -Anna

--

--