What is a Neighborhood Ambassador?

Chloe Loeffelholz
Griz Renter Blog
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2019
Your friendly Neighborhood Ambassadors at a campus wide event!

“Wait… what does that mean?” is the most common response I receive when I tell people I am the Program Manager for the Neighborhood Ambassadors through the ASUM Renter Center at the University of Montana. So let’s break it down. First, the University of Montana — I am a junior in Communication Studies and I am from Bozeman, which makes my choice to attend UM even more fun! Second, the ASUM Renter Center — a student advocacy organization run through the Associated Students of the University of Montana that offers students one-on-one counseling to help them with their renting woes. Third, what exactly is a neighborhood ambassador? The role of a neighborhood ambassador is to promote positive relationships with our neighbors throughout Missoula.

Doesn’t that sound almost too good to be true? It did for me. A job that feels like volunteering? A job where you put your skills to use to make a tangible difference? A job where you meet diverse people and build connections with those focused on the same problems you are? Yep, I may be biased but being a Neighborhood Ambassador meets all of these requirements. It’s July and I am not back to school until August so let’s keep this short and sweet. My top three reasons why you, yes you, should be a Neighborhood Ambassador:

Neighborhood Ambassadors dressed as ’80s fitness enthusiasts for their Halloween trick-or-treat station.
  1. It’s never the same. One weekend we can be found cleaning up the neighborhood after the Griz football games with the Sunday Sweepers, the next distributing our newsletter or organizing a pumpkin smash or helping with a problem between student renters and their neighbors.
  2. Flexible scheduling. This may seem trivial but as a student this matters deeply to me. This job actually allows me to work and be a student at the same time. As a Neighborhood Ambassador you are a student first. The role of a Neighborhood Ambassador is also independent. You have the ability to make your role specific to you. Interested in a specific issue that you want to tackle in the Missoula community (ex. sustainability, renters rights, housing insecurity)? This is the place to do it.
  3. Doing things that matter. I am all about seeing the fruits of my labor and making tangible connections. Really I think most people get excited by these two things. Being a Neighborhood Ambassador has helped me feel like I actually live in Missoula and am not just a student here. Through this job I have spoken in front of the Missoula City Council, represented student interests at countless Neighborhood Council meetings, and gotten to make cotton candy for kiddos at our annual Party in the Park.
Chloe (right) and Erika inviting Missoula City Council to the Party in the Park!

The Neighborhood Ambassador program would love to have you! We are hiring, and you can apply through Handshake.

Track us down on social media or reach out to us on our website umt.edu/neighborhood

--

--