Let our Welcome Crew Volunteer Program Begin

Meet the folks helping us scale the magic of our onboarding

Groove
Groove With Us
8 min readSep 8, 2022

--

The Groove community is growing, which means creating official ways for our community members to help us grow has been top of mind. So, we asked some of our greatest champions for some help!

We’re launching the Groove Welcome Crew this month to help us scale the magic of Groove by establishing what a great Groove experience looks like from day one. Each member of the crew is responsible for hosting two scheduled Grooves for new Groovers each week. They bring the energy and good vibes to create a memorable first experience.

Through many hours of user research, we’ve learned that if someone’s first Groove is an awesome experience, it sticks with them! We want that to continue to be true as we grow, but know it’s not possible for our Head of Community to host them on her own any longer, so we’re asking for these members’ help to keep it going.

We’re excited to share that these are the five inaugural members of the Welcome Crew and a bit about who they are. Meet Tirza, Olivia, Jan, Cate, and Bethany 🧡

Tirza Magdiel:

Tirza is a logophile who does consulting for non-profits. She also has an almost unhealthy affinity to solving mysteries or reading and watching them. She hails from Jakarta, Indonesia, but is currently doing the digital nomad thing, trying to outrun covid and other diseases out there.

Groove: What do you love about Groove?

Tirza: I love the community of Groove! It has been amazing to meet new people from all over the world; people I wouldn’t have been able to meet under normal circumstances. (Although, what does “normal” mean these days with solopreneuring and remote working?) I also love the fact that the people of Groove are very encouraging. These are the ones who will celebrate wins, motivate you, encourage you as you meet your goals.

Groove: What’s something you’ve accomplished in Groove?

Tirza: Is it bad that my immediate thoughts go to washing dishes?! I love to cook and loathe doing dishes (and with no dishwasher that’s a challenge). I have gotten plenty of dishes washed on Groove. On a more personal note, I’ve established a morning setting-the-day rhythm on Groove. It’s been great! I groove with the same group of people every day and I start my day well. That’s been a big win! On a professional note, I’ve started and finished tons of projects on Groove. Groove has become a huge part of my life!

Groove: What are your top tips for new Groovers?

Tirza: Maybe these two tips:

  • Rather than trying to tackle a huge goal in one Groove, try to break down your goal into a more realistic 50-minute goal. And it really helps to use the task list feature of Groove to check off tasks. The action of crossing off things on the list gives you motivation to keep going!
  • It’s OK to pivot! (For some reason I have Ross from Friends yelling “Pivot! Pivot” in my head.) Pivoting is when you’re in the middle of a Groove and realize that the current goal isn’t feasible for one reason or another. So pivot and change directions — work on a new goal! That’s OK. Pivot happens. Groove on!
  • A bonus tip related to that last one: be gracious to yourself!

Olivia Brait:

Olivia is setting up her virtual assistant business after getting a degree in theatre design. She’s a bread baker, tea-drinker, and snack enthusiast.

Groove: What do you love about Groove?

Olivia: There are so many things that I love about Groove! Being able to meet like-minded people from all over the world who have similar wavy career paths, and working from home and being by myself a lot, it’s really lovely to have people I see and talk to on a regular basis. It also does wonders for my productivity, being able to single task for 50 minutes with the accountability of having a catch up in the end.

Groove: What’s something you’ve accomplished in Groove?

Olivia: I work as a virtual assistant and I have set up systems in my business on Grooves, got into a solid morning routine and keep on top of my housework.

Groove: What are your top tips for new Groovers?

Olivia: My top tip for new Groovers is to embrace meeting new people, I’m such an introvert so it was nerve racking at first but every single person I’ve met on Groove is lovely!

Jan Almsay:

Jan is a startup founder, writer and head of community from Canton, Ohio. After working as an ICU/Trauma Nurse and a successful military career, Jan co-founded a marketing consulting group called Apex Communications Network which quickly scaled to impact clients across the US and internationally. Jan is also the Head of Community for IndeCollective, a educational community where top independent workers go to develop the know-how and network to translate their skills into financially rewarding, personally fulfilling careers.

Groove: What do you love about Groove?

Jan: I love that since I’ve started using the app, it’s the one social media app on my phone I’ve never really felt “guilty” for not using — because I know that everyone understands needing to take a break from our phones. Through Groove, I’ve been able to form a group of close friends that I would have never in a million years had the opportunity to do anywhere else I can think of online. We spent hours and hours together getting sh!t done working remote. Inevitably some of my best friends coming out of a time when I worked primarily remote/by myself are people from the app.

Groove: What’s something you’ve accomplished in Groove?

Jan: I collaborated with a friend of mine, and we built a 90min course + workshop for independent consultants looking to up their game on LinkedIn. Also, I’ve now used Groove to hold myself accountable for working out, and am in the best shape I’ve been in since college!

Groove: What are your top tips for new Groovers?

Jan: I would say two things.

  1. If you have a few minutes at the end of a groove to stay and chat… do it. You’d be surprised how many new friends you’ll discover along the way.
  2. Don’t just use Groove for work stuff. Take the opportunity to have others hold you accountable for your self-care. I can’t count the number of times I’ve used groove to “go on a walk” and been grateful that I did.

Cate Scott Campbell:

Cate is the Founder and Chief Expression Officer of Ecstatic Voice, a communication studio dedicated the art and science of expressing all that you are. She has worked with a wide variety of companies, from startups to Fortune 500 corporations, to activate their missions, authentically engage with their audiences, and bring products and programming to life. And she has helped many one-on-one clients, from creative directors to CEOs, successfully launch projects, change careers, upgrade their messaging, and speak with confidence and ease. She lectures on communication at UC San Diego’s Rady School of Management and mentors fellow creatives through the Northwestern University Entertainment Alliance.

Groove: What do you love about Groove?

Cate: So much! Groove has been a source of energizing structure in my week, it’s helped me understand how long things actually take, and has kept me moving forward in a simple, supportive way. But most of all, I love the people. In just a few short months, I’ve met so many creative, inspiring, and kind go-getters around the world who lift me up just by Grooving together. It’s a rare and special thing when you’re up late working on a deadline and a fellow Groover is starting their day on the other side of the world, coffee in hand, cheering you on.

Groove: What’s something you’ve accomplished in Groove?

Cate: Groove came into my life shortly after I launched my communication studio and was feeling both over-the-moon excited and totally overwhelmed. In other words, the possibilities were endless and I was this close to drowning in them. I’ve used my time in Groove to focus in, prioritize, and thoughtfully grow. And of course, get a lot of sh*t done.

Groove: What are your top tips for new Groovers?

Cate: First, jump on in! It’s easy, fun, and you’ll be a pro in no time. Second, get creative! When I first started Grooving, I thought I’d just use Groove for doing work. Thanks to the inventive applications of my fellow Groovers, I now use Groove for doing life, too. Creating room for things like resetting my space between projects, making an afternoon matcha, or even taking a power nap has kept my engine humming.

Bethany Hackman:

Bethany Hackmann is the owner of Beth’s Copywriting Corner, where she helps entrepreneurs connect with their community through powerful, personality-packed copywriting. When she’s not writing, she’s playing with her pets, reading a YA novel, sipping a chai, + spending time with her family.

Groove: What do you love about Groove?

Bethany: l love how easy Groove makes goal-setting and goal-reaching! I also love the chance to socialize and celebrate my wins with other Groovers. Plus, it feels like we’re on a team together, which I appreciate 😊

Groove: What’s something you’ve accomplished in Groove?

Bethany: What HAVEN’T I accomplished in Groove?!? I’ve written and published basically all my client blogs in Groove. I’ve cleaned my house. I’ve packed for a move. I’ve showered, worked out, and prepared work presentations.

Groove: What are your top tips for new Groovers?

Bethany: My top tips — schedule your Grooves! It’s so nice to know “I have time set aside to do XYZ later. I will get it done then.” Also, talk to people. It’s fun to make friends and to meet others from around the world. Lastly, learn how to make your goals attainable. It’s nice to push yourself in the 50 minutes, but it’s important to know whats’ realistic to get done in 50 minutes.

Heads up, the welcome sessions these crew members will host will be visible only to people who have Grooved less than 5 times. If you’re reading this and have Grooved more than five times, you won’t see this program in action, but you might be interested in taking part in it. If you’re curious as we grow this volunteer program to become a Welcome Crew member yourself, please reach out to the team to let us know.

Looking for more Groovy content? Check these out:

  1. How to Self-Water
  2. How to Get Sh*t Done
  3. Or, if you’re looking to make working solo ➡️ social, cruise on over to groove.ooo to join our beta community 🏄🏼

--

--

Groove
Groove With Us

Ready to get sh*t done and have a good time while you’re at it? 🏄‍♂️ On-demand accountability for dreamers, doers, movers and shakers: groove.ooo