Grounded Essentials: Your Office Desk

Grounded
Grounded.Work
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2019

Over the course of your working life, you’ll spend most of your time sitting at your desk and blasting through your task list every day. There’s a default setup: Computer, keyboard, mouse and a tub of colourful supplies (think pens and paper clips). At Grounded, we like to go the extra mile and that mindset applies to our own desks at the office.

How do our team members change up the default setup to suit their needs and personality?

Joey

Creative Director

Item: Figurines

I started making mini lego figurines a year back whenever I felt stressed. The collection has since expanded to include Funkopop figurines- I started a female villain themed collection to fuel my raging feminist hormones. Next up in the shopping bag are Maleficent and Nebula. Having some fun items on my desk helps me feel less overwhelmed by work- I take a break by arranging them and admiring my masterpieces.

Pam

Project Manager/Creative

Item: Chair pillow

The Chair pillow is a very crucial component of my office life as I have some back problems and in order to work efficiently, I need to be in a comfortable position. I used to like buying the $1 ice cream from the ice cream cart and the design of the pillow definitely makes me feel nostalgic. Most importantly, it acts as a very good punching bag when I am stressed at work.

Anna

Head of Business Development

Item: Post-Its

It’s my job to make sure projects run smoothly. I talk to a bunch of different people every day, and my clients get what they want and were promised. This means I have to-do lists and my to-do lists have to-do lists, and it’s just so much easier to keep track with the different colours! Every item checked off my list sparks a little joy (haha, thanks Marie Kondo).

Jiawen

Co-Founder and CEO

Item: Effervescent tablets

(Note: Make your own conclusions about this one.)

Leon

Business Analyst

Item: Wireless headphones

They are not meant to be a permanent fixture on my desk. They’re more so a necessity for me to even leave my home in the mornings. Noise cancellation and music are essential to really maintain a very comfortable and quiet space amidst the chaos that is known as the morning commute. They sit on my table as a form of escape should the workplace get a bit too overwhelming (Editor’s note: ehem noisy).

Connect with us!

Check out our website or email us at hey@grounded.work.

Get social with Grounded on LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--

Grounded
Grounded.Work

Grounded was founded on a collective dream to build an empire and leave a legacy behind long after we’re gone.