Cotton Ni
Grow through Thinking & Experiencing
1 min readJan 9, 2016

--

Hi Adrian, all the strategies that you mentioned are great ways for improving user experience happened during waiting times. I really think they are brilliant thoughts! Thanks for sharing those!

About having fast starts with stops at 99% , my assumption is that it could be a strategy too for retaining potential customers. If users see the slow setup progress at the beginning, they may terminate the setup to avoid the long wait. However, because the set up starts very fast, users could be delighted by that “positive attitude” without quitting in the middle. Later on, although the progress gets slow or even stops at 99%, there would be a high possibility that users will wait to get it finished because they have already been spending too much time on it. Anyway, this is my quick thought that I want to share, and I agree that it is not a strategy that can sustain users’ positive emotion.

--

--