Off the cuff: Q&A with Gaëlle Koutou

Tech girl and expert at GROW Labs Entrepreneurial Sessions

GROW Labs
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2018

--

Following our gone Entrepreneurial Session last Thursday, we caught up for a coffee with one of our experts, Gaëlle Koutou. Born and raised in France, Gaëlle has an atypical and inspiring journey that took her from working in the fashion industry in London to working as a Cloud expert in Amsterdam. But hold on, I am not the one supposed to tell you these things!

Who is Gaëlle Koutou?

I’m 29 years old, and I am French with an African background. I was born and raised in Paris but always felt a strong urge to see the world. As soon as I got the chance, I moved to Canada, then to London and here I am now, in Amsterdam. My friends say I am a techie, a bit of a nerd sometimes. You know what? They are right. I am very curious and enthusiastic about everything, I enjoy fitness and meditation, I love food — I mean I am French, you know how we are there -, and travelling is another passion of mine. Exploring new landscapes, discovering new cultures, and meeting people from all over the world.

Tell me about your journey

I started my career at a relatively young age, right after university. I joined a street marketing agency in Montreal. Following this, I moved to London where I worked in the Fashion Industry for brands such as Saint-Laurent, Balenciaga, Burberry, and Vivienne Westwood. These experiences were great but did not provide me with the knowledge and the insights I was craving for. I am very curious; I love to learn and tend to move at breakneck speed. I wanted something more exciting and it felt like fashion was not the right place for me. I went 180 degrees and decided to embrace my passion for tech and innovation. I took a job at Apple and joined last year Oracle as a Cloud Sales Expert.

How did the GROW Labs Entrepreneurial Sessions trigger your interest?

As I said earlier, I love Tech, and I am also passionate about Entrepreneurship and Women Empowerment. Joining these sessions was a no-brainer as I thrive to help others and to share my knowledge with people starting out in this field. My experience is unique. Not so many people move from Fashion to Tech, that is why I think anyone can benefit from my perspective.

How did you experience the first session?

I had some issues with my scooter while driving to the event, so I just arrived when the second pitch was starting. I enjoyed listening to their story, their motivations and their goals. It’s always inspiring to hear entrepreneurs talking about their concept. Following the pitch, I had a chat with Unchain.io founder, the first startup who pitched. It was an exciting idea as a Blockchain enthusiast; I regretted I could not hear the pitch. Another thing: I liked the setting of the event, how intimate it was. For once, I truly enjoyed the Dutch Borrel; the vibe was friendly and informal.

Which pitch triggered your attention, and why?

QuickDoc’s pitch caught my attention. They had a smooth and straightforward concept that I think could ease the daily lives of many people. The idea and the execution were crystal clear. It matters when you work in tech as people receive a continuous flow of information. Having an easy to understand value-proposition is an asset that will make a difference.

How digital are you?

In his book, “Diffusion of Innovations”, the American Sociologist Everett Rogers identified five personas for innovation adoption: Innovators, Early Adopters, Early Majority, Late Majority, and Laggards. I see myself as being part of the Early Adopters. I love technology, in its whole. I am into apps, new gadgets, and… I quickly ditch them if they don’t deliver.

Apps you would need on a desert island?

Many of them but if I had to choose, I’d say Gmail to keep a connection with the outer world, Instagram to eat, travel, live experience through the lenses of my network. I would also make sure to install Binklist, even if I never tried it, I can imagine that being on a desert island would be a great way to explore and discover new readings. Last but not least, Whatsapp to remain connected with my loved ones.

Most fascinating technology?

Today is fantastic, don’t you think? I mean we live in the era of AI, AR, VR and Blockchain; and guess what… I am embracing it! I am a keen interest in Blockchain that I perceive as a world-changing technology. I am just curious how.

Tell me something unexpected…

I’m allergic to pineapple. Do you know a good app that could help?

*******************************************************************

Want to join our next Entrepreneurial Session and to share your journey with Gaëlle and the other experts? Apply today for the upcoming third edition on June 28th, and do not forget to keep yourself posted of all entrepreneurial news by following us on Facebook and Twitter!

--

--

GROW Labs

GROW is a platform aiming to push innovation forward by connecting ambitious and fast-growing companies with the best development teams worldwide.