Losing Joe- How I Went from Darkness to A World of Spirituality And Stayed Connected To My Son

Elaine M. Suarez
Growing Grief
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2023

Chapter 19

I met this fabulous woman by the name of Susan Casey. I began following her as I read her story on the loss of her brother Rocky. Her journey thru grief was so familiar it was if I walked the exact same footsteps except the loss I experienced was my son. I wrote Susan and told her my story about Joe and we scheduled a date which happened to fall on Joe’s birthday, August 31, 2023.

I wanted to share what kind of person my son was and how I have walked from darkness to this new place I call my spiritual world. I never thought I’d survive that first year. We lost our only son unexpectedly on May 28, 2018. It’s been five years. I was hospitalized three times that first year. I knew it would be impossible to live in a world without one of my children and I did not feel strong enough to survive.

But, I did and this is my story. I hope my words can help another mother or father who has begun the walk of this uninvited journey in grief. I want them to know it is possible to live. I want them to know grief cannot take their love. I want them to know they can still have a relationship with their child, they just have to BELIEVE.

I love and miss you so much Joe.

--

--

Elaine M. Suarez
Growing Grief

I am a mother of 3, and a survivor of child loss. I write about my uninvited journey in grief after the sudden loss of my son, Joseph. His life ended to soon.