Shirley Pearly (Mum)

Astaria DÁrci - Whispering Echo
Growing Grief
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2023
ELG21 in Pixabay

Kind eyes and a fiercely protective heart.

It’s so hard now that we’re apart.

I’m reminded of these things now that you’ve flown,

Hummingbirds, Pineapple Fru Jus, the colour yellow, and tripping over your shadow

and every little stone.

A hug from you always made me feel at home and never alone.

I know I wasn’t always easy, but I always felt the love you had for me.

And these are things that will stay with me so sweetly.

I thank God every day that he gave me you, what do I even say,

but,

how sweet it is that you are my mum and you will always stay, right here, in my heart to my own transition day.

I hope you know how much you truly mean to me.

Go well Mum for all eternity.

And I’ll see you there, one day I hope that’s not so near.

I promise I won’t shed too many a tear.

Remembering you will be easy; I’ll do it every day because thoughts of you will never ever go away.

I’ll gaze upon a star and know it is you, staring down at me with a love so true.

I’ll hear you in my words, see you in my dreams, feel you in all the spring blooms.

But most of all I’m so blessed I knew you as my mother and my friend.

--

--