Why Growing Grief?

Who needs a publication about death anyway?

Mary DeVries
Growing Grief

--

Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

Death is a topic most people shy away from and ignore as much as possible. This can be very isolating when you are in the middle of it. I have found much comfort in times of grief being able to read the stories of others going through similar situations.

This publication is a place grieving people can come to share the stories they need to tell, and read the stories of others who have walked in the valley of the shadow of death.

My first choice of a name was “Good Grief” but that was already taken by a personal publication that hasn’t been active in over two years.

Interestingly as I researched names and other grief-based publications I found this pattern repeated a lot. Someone formed a publication, usually personal, there is a brief flurry of activity and then nothing.

This isn’t all that surprising given the way grief for most of us comes and goes in spurts. At times we need the outlet of writing and then the need passes. My goal in this publication is to provide a platform for writers for whatever period of time they wish to be active, but also to be a repository of stories for those looking to learn from the experiences of others.

--

--

Mary DeVries
Growing Grief

The older I get, the less I know. That won’t stop me from writing about everything and anything under the sun. Join me in delighting and despairing about life.