What is PetDex?

I should probably explain.

Andre Felipe
Growing Pains
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2021

--

A photo of a laptop computer on a desk with periferals and an external monitor
Photo by Pakata Goh on Unsplash

In Why I’m starting a new (ad)venture, I say that I started a CRM, but pivoted to a digital product for veterinarians. But what exactly am I building?

In short, I’m building a management platform, and I’m calling it PetDex.

What the heck does that mean?

Freelance veterinarians have a few things they need to keep track of when dealing with their patients. From vaccinations to medical history and medications, veterinarians need to take notes on the go and be able to refer to everything about their patients to diagnose any health problems correctly.

So the idea is to have a management platform that allows the user to keep track of all the information they might need on the field.

To make a management platform, you have to name the management platform so that you don’t have to keep saying management platform.

See what I did there?

Naming the system.

If you could give any name to a registry of data for animals, what would it be?

Naturally, I thought of the Pokedex.

The Pokedex is the place where you have all the different information about the different pokemon. It is a centralized system, that you fill, and that you have access to when you need it.

Kind of like what I’m building. But for pets.

So the name PetDex was right there. I mean, a Pokedex for pets. What more do you want?

So, how will it work?

The idea is to have a central web app with a companion app for field access.

The technologies used and the feature list will be discussed in other posts, where I can get more in-depth about the architecture and all the nitty-gritty details that go into making a product.

Make sure to follow Growing Pains to keep up to date with what is going on and learn how to avoid the problems I will most definitely have to face.

--

--

Andre Felipe
Growing Pains

Trying to keep the grind from grinding me into the ground