10- 1965 May: Nursing Home, Piano Recital, HS Graduation & Outdoor Lights

Donna Anglin Moraco
Growing Up In Dixie
5 min readMar 13, 2017

The dedication of outdoor lights at the high school baseball diamond opened thoughts of the summer months ahead for a community in Southwest Georgia during 1965. Such a joyful time! My writings share my diary entries from this time in my life. I hope you enjoy reading.

Folks at school baseball diamond at a summer event, circa 1965

My grandmother was in decline and as a 12 year old in 1965 Georgia, I struggled with integrating routine end of year events and watching my own father and his brothers face the inevitable with my grandmama. A balancing act ensued. A sad moment in our family’s story…

16 May 1965, I went to Sunday School. Then our family went to Americus for dinner and came back by Plains to visit Grandmama in the nursing home. Her broken hip caused us to have to put her in a nursing home. I studied for two tests tonight. 17 May 1965, I had my last piano lesson before our recital. I got back a Science test and made a 98. I have been practicing my recital piano piece a lot! 18 May 1965, Tuesday, I got out of school early and went to Columbus with Laurie to get my recital shoes. I also bought some face powder!”

In 2015, I stopped by this ‘nursing home’ where my grandmother was in 1965; 50 years later, it still stands in Plains and is now called the Lillian Carter Health and Rehabilitation Center

As my grandmother lay dying, I studied for tests, practiced the piano, and went shopping. My mom and dad didn’t really discuss her state of health very openly, but I saw the stress and worry in their eyes.

19 May 1965, We had the first official rehearsal for our piano recital. I did pretty good. Mama started spring cleaning today and began in my room. 20 May 1965, Thursday, We had another rehearsal for our piano recital. I really goofed up. Oh, I would hate to mess up on the actual recital. Tonight was the dedication of the lights on the baseball diamond up at school. We went.

21 May 1965, Just think, my recital for 1965 is over! I didn’t make any mistakes! Laurie and Wanda did wonderful, too. OH, I’m so HAPPY. 22 May 1965, Saturday, I went to Columbus with Daddy and Adie. Laurie gave David his rings back today. I got my loafers fixed.”

A successful recital came and went. Our piano teacher exuded happiness and great joy at how well everyone had done. A writeup in the local paper documented a job well done. More everyday events: a trip to Columbus, boyfriend/girlfriend exchanges, and having shoes repaired. Concerns over my grandmother filled the background of everyday.

23 May 1965, We repaired the doghouse. I went to church. We ate supper with Aunt Gladys. Adie got stung by two wasps. We went to the high school commencement tonight. 24 May 1965, Final Exams began today at school. I took the English exam. Got out of school at 2:00. I stopped by to visit with Mr. and Mrs. Peagler a little while (our neighbors) 25 May 1965, Tuesday, I had a Science final exam today. I rained a little bit. I helped Mama put color rinse on her hair.

The end of the school year celebrated a first year of a consolidated school system. Richland and Lumpkin senior and junior high schools had combined. High school students had come to Lumpkin and Junior High had gone to Richland. The elementary schools remained in the separate small towns. To be honest, since the black and white communities still operated separate school systems, I did not know what was going in the black schools. I assume they had consolidated as well, but then I have to admit I did not know if there was a separate black school in Richland. Perhaps all the African American children in the county had always come to Lumpkin.

26 May 1965, I had my Math final today. I made an 86. Laurie came by and we walked to the filling station. TWO more days of school! Can’t wait. 27 May 1965, Thursday, My last final exam was History. After I got home from school, I washed and rolled my hair. Played a little basketball out back. No homework! 28 May 1965, Today was the ]]last day[[ of school! At assembly, I received an academic award for American History and a scholarship pin for all A’s. Adie has gone camping with Grady. I went to the high school graduation ceremony.

“Walked to the filling station” brings a whole range of feelings and memories. There was a gas station just around the corner, near the only traffic light in town. Ammon’s Garage was its nearby neighbor business — an easy five minute walk from my house. As Laurie and I strolled along talking about life and boys and approaching summertime, I can feel the sunshine’s warmth and I can almost taste the Baby Ruth candy bar I likely bought. A favorite snack in this era of my life which I have rarely had in the last 30 years!

29 May 1965, I spent the whole day in Columbus. I got new tennis shoes, a beach robe and some new PJs. I went to Ms. Mayos recital tonight in Richland. I sang with the girl’s choir. 30 May 1965, Today is Laurie’s 13th birthday. I went to Sunday School and Church. Afterwards, the family rode over to Plains to the nursing home to see Grandmama. 31 May 1965, I practiced my 4-H demonstration. Laurie has been lazing around here with me all day. We went to the schoolhouse to watch the community softball game.”

The end of the school year brought relief and time for just “lazing around” as I noted. This oncoming summer was the first of many where the town citizens enjoyed community softball games twice a week the entire summer.

A site associated with several summers from 1965–1969/70

The saga continues. I have to say these visits back in time are so fun. I hope you, the readers, are experiencing some joy at revisiting the past — could be any small town in the US from an era long ago.

--

--

Donna Anglin Moraco
Growing Up In Dixie

Writer, traveler, mom, wife, retired Lt. Col USAF., and PhD