18- 1965 Sept: First Business Venture, Hootenanny, Sock Hops, & School Woes

Donna Anglin Moraco
Growing Up In Dixie
6 min readMay 15, 2017
Selling Christmas Cards was one of my first entrepreneurial adventures

The saga continues. I am delighted to continue sharing an authentic look at growing up in small town Southwest Georgia in 1965. Memories of these times fade over time, but what a treasure trove I discovered in re-reading my girlhood diaries and taking the step to document some of that era through sharing on Medium. Happy to have anyone along who might have an interest historically, culturally and family-wise into the shared everyday of a 13 year old from this era.

This story features continued main characters from my family of origin: my mom and dad, my brother Adie, and my Uncle Rody and Aunt Gladys. School friends mentioned in this post are Debby, Wanda, Sandra, Laurie, and Brownie. All of them are from my age-group. The other honorable mentions are some of the adults in my world at that time: Mr. McKinney the junior high Science teacher, Mrs. Peagler an elderly neighbor, and Mrs. Johnson the Methodist preacher’s wife.

16 Sept 1965, I was sick and didn’t go to school. I am feeling a lot better this afternoon. Mama and Daddy have gone to the PTA meeting in Richland. 17 Sept 1965, I stayed home today also. Debby was absent and so was Wanda. I was feeling some better, but now I feel horrible again. 18 Sept 1965, We drove up to Columbus. It was a shopping day. Got new underwear, some new loafers, as well. I feel a lot better today! 19 Sept 1965, I went to Sunday School and Church. Sandra came over. Mama drove us out to see the new baby cousin at Uncle Rody and Aunt Gladys.”

Mothers and fathers from all geographical areas, from all socio-economic backgrounds, literally everywhere that public education is available usually flock to parent teacher organizations (PTA in this era) to keep an eye on their children’s education, to get to know teachers and to learn of any extra interventions that might benefit their children. Those who do not make it to such meetings are typically hampered by work schedules or lack of family support structures to enable the ease of attending.

Just the record of the normalcy of everyday is something I now treasure so much. School days interspersed with sick days remind me of those times when missing a friend’s presence at school was enough to annotate in a diary! I always enjoyed drop-in visits at my house from friends who lived just down the street and as any young teen was thrilled with going shopping and getting new clothes.

20 Sept 1965, Went to school as usual. In typing class I can type 16 words per minute! I sold a box of Christmas cards to Mrs. Peagler. I’m going to make a little money selling cards this year. 21 Sept 1965, Today I had my music lesson and a math test. Mom and Dad have been on my brother about studying — Bless his heart. 22 Sept 1965, I made an 80 on a Science test because of Mr. McKinney’s curving the grades. I made the basketball team! Today is Wanda’s birthday. She is still sick and out of school.”

I had begun one of my first entrepreneurial adventures that autumn of selling Christmas cards. I remember that I had pre-ordered a number of boxes with different themes; some were assortments, others were the uniform sort that are all one-of-a-kind per box and I also had a “show” scrapbook of sorts that offered a selection that could be ordered with names embossed on the inner card. I was looking forward to having a little extra spending $$ come holiday time.

I still dreamed of being a star basketball player, wishing to emulate my cousin who was several years older and had been the lead forward for her high school team. She gave our family name a place in rural Georgia high school basketball. I was just beginning to hone my skills, which never quite materialized in the manner that MJs did.

23 Sept 1965, I’ve been a member of the Lumpkin Baptist Church for three years today. We went to the American Legion supper and Daddy was sworn in as the Vice Commander of the organization. 24 Sept 1965, I came home, washed and rolled my hair. I went to a Hootenanny at the schoolhouse tonight. Stayed a little while for the sock hop. It was kind of horrible, actually.”

Whoa! I actually wrote about a Hootenanny. I thought that was only folklore from TV shows like “Hee Haw.” Course that TV show didn’t even premier until 1969, so our citizenry was ahead of the times with throwing a Hootenanny before Hollywood had popularized it! How could you beat a Sock Hop as the followup activity? Pinch me, someone! These times really happened. Love that comment, “It was kind of horrible, actually.”

25 Sept 1965, I sold some more Christmas cards to Mrs. Johnson. Laurie came over to the house. We played basketball out back. She ate supper with us. I went to Eufaula with Dad. 26 Sept 1965, I went to Sunday school. My little cousin celebrated her 4th birthday at the Fish Camp in Omaha. Adie and I drove over to join the party. I went to church tonight.”

Neighbors and town citizens were truly extended family. Everyone exhibited patience and support for kid ventures of earning a little extra money through ambitious entrepreneurial enterprises. Whether a child set up a lemonade stand, went door to door selling card, distributed small sacks either pecans or peanuts for some small cash sale, folks stepped up and purchased often times not really having a genuine interest — but just a supportive interest in helping.

That Fish Camp in Omaha was the prime scene for many a happy time, be that eating catfish on a Friday night or celebrating a holiday or a birthday. Omaha was an easy 15 mile drive from my home. As mentioned in earlier stories, we loved eating out! With two parents working outside the home, we considered a meal out as a cool reward, whenever possible.

27 Sept 1965, I made a 92 on a Science test and 100 on my math test. I talked to Laurie a good long while. She was very upset and crying. I’m so sad for her. 28 Sept 1965, Today, there has been a lot of fussing about our Typing class. I had music lesson. — a very good one. I’m through with my lessons (homework). 29 Sept 1965, I’ve just been doing nothing all day. I did ask Brownie to come home with me on Friday. I certainly hope she will. 30 Sept 1965, I had a lot of homework. Six weeks spelling test tomorrow. I typed two reports for History class and I copied about five maps. I’m so tired.

The everyday of school life was in full swing as were the heartaches of friends, as all of us struggled with certain aspects of adolescence. I wonder what all the raucousness in Typing class was? I imagine as one who was only typing 16 words a minute, that perhaps we were embroiled in debating the merits of the grading system or the expectations of the teacher against the reality the students faced with mastering the new skill!

October approached. The fall of the year in Southwest Georgia was my favorite time of year. The scorching heat of summer faded and the cool crisp Autumn air swept in. Stand by for more pieces of life, as leaves begin to change.

--

--

Donna Anglin Moraco
Growing Up In Dixie

Writer, traveler, mom, wife, retired Lt. Col USAF., and PhD