New Book Announcement: 585, The Number That Changed Our Lives

Raising a Child with Type 1 Diabetes

Glorious Raine
GFC Mag

--

585 Book Cover

It has taken me a long time (over 15 years) to decide to share our journey with the world. In 2006, I self-published a first draft of a book of poems and essays about our lives raising a child with Type One diabetes. But the shelf life of that book didn’t last long, I unpublished it, locked it away, and moved on.

Now, 18 years later I am finally ready to share my story. So, with a newfound drive to take my memories and experiences and put them down on paper 585, The Number That Changed Our Lives was drafted. It has taken me longer than originally planned. There were times when I wasn’t inspired to work on this project so I spent long stretches of time working on other creative endeavors. However, last year (2023) I realized how important it was for me to tell our story and that it had to happen. With that understanding, I began to pour all my energy into completing this book and am excited to say that it will be published on March 30, 2024.

The completion of this book has been a long time coming and I am looking forward to sharing it with you. 585, The Number That Changed Our Lives, is an open and honest memoir recounting my experience as a mother of a child with Type One diabetes. You’ll read about the raw emotions that I experienced learning about my son’s diagnosis, the impact it had on my and my husband’s everyday lives, and most importantly how it affected our son. I hope you receive insight, inspiration, knowledge, and tips on raising a child with Type 1 diabetes.

I would love for you to join me in an intimate reading on Saturday, April 6, 2024, from 10:30 am to 12:00 pm EDT. See the Eventbrite link below:

Echoes of Print: An Intimate Reading: Join us for a cozy online reading session where we’ll share the echoes of printed words from “585, The Number That Changed Our Lives”

--

--