Aiming | Achieving | Growing: Milestones of a data analyst

Anaghamadhav
Growth at Nineleaps
2 min readJun 21, 2023

Data and exploring how to work with it have always been something that has interested me. So naturally, I went ahead a built a career around it. Being a data analyst, I’ve worked with different types of data, each set with its own volume and various levels of complexity.

The challenges I faced with diverse datasets have given me extra motivation to learn and improve myself. Fortunately, I found myself working at Nineleaps, a company that shares my passion for inclusion and personal growth. Every project they undertake has tremendous learning potential, but what truly sets them apart is their commitment to fostering an inclusive work environment.

I remember one such project which not only satisfied my motivation for learning something new but went above and beyond my expectations.

As a data analyst with over a year’s experience, I’ve had good enough practice when it comes to working with visualization tools such as Google Data Studio & IBM Watson Studio. When a requirement for building a few dashboards came, I immediately volunteered to take it up. However, I did not know that the dashboards needed to be done using Tableau and not GDS.

This did not demotivate me but only added fuel to my yearning for learning. Noticing this, Kalvin, my ever-supportive manager convinced the client to include me in another Tableau-based project for a while as a shadow to help me gain the experience needed to work on the tool and then take the project up once I’m ready.

I had been using Tableau Public for basic projects. With this project I got a chance to learn the more advanced features through shadowing. I learned at a very quick rate and was able to impress the client and satisfy their requirements when the project started.

Not only that, but Nineleaps also invited me to include other resources in my tableau learning schedule and teach them the tool as well. The environment I was provided with enough time to learn and also helped me teach my peers.

Only then did I understand another form of joy.

The joy of teaching.

My expertise in Tableau improved and this resulted in me easily gaining trust from clients and succeeding in projects that I worked for.

Through this experience, I realized the importance of having a supportive manager like Kalvin and working within a nurturing environment. Nineleaps aligned with my personal values, respecting my ideas and building an atmosphere where my potential increased.

Like the data I analyze, I will keep analyzing myself, pushing boundaries, learning new capabilities, and together with my company, leveraging the power of data to unlock endless possibilities and shape a brighter future.

--

--