Why did I create Growth Design?

Joe Anderson
Growth Design
Published in
1 min readMar 13, 2016

--

I’ve always personally struggled and seen other startup founders struggle with understanding distribution. My first startup failed primarily because of this. In September 2014 I joined Realm, a Y Combinator company, as a designer on the adoption team. I’ve learned a lot being purely focused on growth instead of product design. I constantly have ideas running around my head and learnings from experiments we run at work. I figure this could be a place to brainstorm and share that. In the future I want to build new marketing tech products, so I hope to connect with other people that love new marketing tech too.

Here are some other reasons why I created this:

  • A place to write about new marketing tech products
  • Build a community around thinking differently about growth and design working together.
  • Connect with others who share similar values and are excited about this topic.
  • Get better at writing
  • Get better at growth design

What is Growth Design?

I think of it as the intersection of marketing and design. How you can use design thinking with marketing to come up with creative forms of distribution.

--

--

Joe Anderson
Growth Design

Helping the marketing team with design thinking at Realm. Follow me @Anderson760