A day in the life of a Growup Virtual Assistant

Vineeta
Growup Group
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2023
  1. How do you briefly describe your past work experience?

I have got 10 years of experience in Finance, E-commerce, HR, and Edtech Industries. I have worked with service companies like Accenture, TATA, Flipkart, and CITI, & have handled versatile customers in collections, customer service, billing, and claims and had the opportunity to transition a couple of projects to Chennai.

2. What made you switch from that job to being VA at Growup? How did you cope with the transition?

I took a career break to take care of my family. I was keen on pursuing my career and looking for remote opportunities. Thanks to Covid, increased remote working opportunities. I was excited to know to take up the Virtual Assistant role which was exactly the kind of job I was looking for. I had been freelancing and doing contractual jobs and was happy for this role. Once I understood how the system works, it was easy to work virtually.

Mekala P working from her home office setup

3. How has your journey as a VA been so far?

A Virtual Assistant role demands qualities like being self-driven and organized. These qualities of mine have helped me to run the show well. Yes, there were initial hiccups and glitches as in any other job. But the team was helpful and weekly calls helped to make the journey smooth. The Growup team ensures that the journey as a VA is at a comfortable pace but not left to be a solo traveler.

4. What does your typical workday look like?

I start my day with yoga. Then I take a few minutes in solitude to mentally plan and prepare for my day. Once I log in I check the mailboxes of both the clients I work for and plan my working hours of the day and execute accordingly.

5. What are the new skill sets acquired as a VA? What is the learning curve in virtual work?

The training period helped me to learn many new applications, templates, and processes which I had never used or just known or used a bit in past. My major learning was in the field of HR. With the help of my team, training, and extensive search in Google, I prepared an onboarding checklist, booklets, leave policies, and do background verification for my client.

6. What is one thing about what you do that makes you excited to get up tomorrow and do it again?

Virtual work itself is very exciting for me. Because when I wanted to resume my career after my break I did not get this type of opportunity. Now, I am able to work without any compromise on my family’s care. The feeling of financial independence keeps me excited and pursuing my passion.

7. How has your family supported and adapted to your work?

My husband and kids were happy for me & I have immense support from them. It is nice to work remotely, taking care of my sick mother-in-law and being around the adolescent kids. This has given a win-win situation at home. I am able to balance my life and live for myself.

8. What prospects are you looking forward to in your career?

I have missed my professional life a lot due to my career break. I missed team meetings, professional responsibilities, task accomplishments, and career growth. I hope to see a successful journey and re-live the happy days of my life.

9. What else do you want someone to know about working virtually?

I have seen people talk less about virtual jobs. I have experienced the poor transition of work happening in remote jobs. But an organization with systematic training and transitioning of work and with employees who are self-disciplined and organized can deliver the best and take it to any level.

Answers provided by: VA Mekala Prasad for The Growup Group

--

--