Are you Taker? Giver? or Matcher?

Tomo Tagami
GSBGEN317
Published in
3 min readMay 15, 2017

Is this easy question? Or difficult question?

Yes, it’s easy, right?

Because you know your type, and you understand who you are.

But…Is that true?

I had thought I was Matcher until yesterday, until I met a certain funny guy, David Hornik (https://www.linkedin.com/in/davidhornik).

And, now… I don’t know which my type is.

These definition, Taker, Giver and matcher, is quite fuzzy, I think.

“Takers” are those who strategically try to get more benefits than personal costs. Sometimes, they help others, but Takers make sure to analyze the situation and take action when they recognize that the benefit can outweigh the cost.

And, vice versa. He/she is “Giver”. Yes, Giver always loses games even though he intends to do so. Or rather, they might not care about such a game. With their efforts, the other people feel good. That’s it! It matters to Giver.

“Matchers” have both faces of “Givers” and “Takers”. They can balance give and take. I think this type of people are the smartest and most peaceful. It is likely that most business people belong to this category. From my long work experience, Japanese workers are typical Matchers.

I work hard every day, and I need only money enough to live comfortably.

However, it is just one viewpoint.

Personal/professional life and business situation are attributable to various things. The differentiation between takers, givers and matchers could be affected by individual character.

The first impression of David is he looks like a comedian. His gesture, voice and facial expression including smile looks lax but definitely amiable and approachable. It is inborn temperament and must be his treasury!

Have you ever read his past achievement in a reading matter? According to the material, he is introduced as a typical Giver; he is a dedicated, unobtrusive and earnest business person.

“What? This guy is that business elite?”, I screamed within my mind at the classroom.

Nadine Terman (left) and David Hornik (right) at Stanford

I fortunately joined the panel discussion with a sophisticated female CEO capitalist and David. While she coherently talked about her experience including achievement at Stanford with her nice smile, the story of David seemed somehow rude in a croaking voice. He sometimes interrupted her talk and continued his comedy talk. I had thought he must be liked by everybody around him, or, rather he asserted that he was hated by half of his acquaintance…

“How confusing! Very, very confusing…?!?!”

But, there was one thing I could understand at this confusing situation. I interpreted that he must be liked by everyone. The attitude, gesture, atmosphere and everything he has are generous. Whether or not he is Giver might not matter to him.

Confidence? Responsibility? Reliability?

I’m blest if I know!

But, if you have something which strongly attracts people, you can be “Giver”.

--

--

Tomo Tagami
GSBGEN317
Writer for

Commercial banker. Director at The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ. Loves golf, tennis and cooking.