Business use of personality tests?

Pulkit Agarwal
GSBGen317S20
Published in
4 min readJun 4, 2020

Yesterday I took yet another personality test. This time, it was different. I could actually use the results in business to help me make personnel decisions. This was not just another quiz to spark conversation, it had value.

I’m talking about the Business Chemistry quiz by Deloitte. It can be found here. The main selling point about this quiz is that it gives you the tools to help identify the personality types of other people by observing them. Most other quizzes I’ve seen are geared towards self-introspection and understanding. Having a guess of your teammates or boss’s Business Chemistry composition can enable you to more effectively interact with those people. For example, you can know to send your boss a long and detailed memo right from the start instead of finding out his preference later. They did caveat that this framework helps you come up with an “educated guess” of another’s personality, this is not a “judgment.” What’s the difference? Well, a judgment is a conclusion and it’s static, whereas an educated guess a data-based hypothesis that needs to be validated.

I already knew from the CliftonStrengths Quiz that I’m a Woo, Includer, Competition… I also knew from the Myers–Briggs Test that I’m a classic ENTJ. Now I also know that I’m a “Driver” and a “Pioneer” thanks to Deloitte.

Can you see the Pioneer and Driver in me?

What does that mean? Well you can identify a Pioneer if:

Personality: Pioneers are full of imagination. They are detail-averse, but very adaptable, spontaneous and outgoing. They are willing to embrace risks and explore new options and paths. An example Pioneer would be Ernest Shackleton

I wish I could say I disagree with these, but it’s spot on.

Once you think you’ve identified a Pioneer, I’ll give you a teaser in the value of this result. For each Business Chemistry type, the results outline 4 areas of information that are important. Let me walk you through mine, and include a note on how well it applies:

1. HOW TO ENGAGE THEM

  • Be lively and open to exploring ideas: (10/10) I love people that are full of life and like new ideas. My favorite thing to do is chat with fun people about “pie in the sky” ideas.
  • Hear them out; they often think out loud: (10/10) I get my best thinking done when I’m talking with someone. This makes me very good on my feet in challenging situations.
  • Brainstorm using visuals: (2/10) I’m happy brainstorming in any way.
  • Emphasize fun, freedom, and adventure: (10/10) In corporate settings, I’m always trying to bring in these elements to work, and in my personal life, this is basically my lifestyle.

2. HOW TO LOSE THEM

  • Impose rules, limits, or processes: (7/10) I find rules and processes constricting. That’s why I loved my time at Palantir where the culture is very against these. However I understand their value, so you won’t lose me.
  • Discuss the nitty-gritty details: (9/10) Unfortunately, this is true. I hate to proof-read, so if you find mistakes in this write-up, please blame my personality.
  • Evoke the status quo: (3/10) I like new adventures, however, you won’t lose me with the status quo.
  • Shoot down their ideas: (8/10) If you want to shoot down my idea, please offer a better one, or build upon it.

3. HOW THEY MAKE DECISIONS

  • Receptive to new ideas and approaches: (10/10) I like new ideas so much that I need to focus on an idea once I’ve chosen it. Otherwise, I’ll always be chasing the next idea, and never reaching it.
  • Open to changing their minds: (9/10) If you can convince me, absolutely! I won’t take it a personal attack. However, convincing me will take work.
  • Make quick decisions: (10/10) Yes.
  • Are more comfortable using their intuition: (10/10) Yes again.
  • Have a high tolerance for risk: (10/10) The game is just not fun without risk. Be it mountain biking, starting a business, or just clicking send on that message.

4. EXTREME PIONEER MOTTOS

  • Dream big, brainstorm often: (10/10) Absolutely!
  • Carpe everything: (10/10) The now is where I live. I rarely venture into the past or worry about the future.
  • Why not?: (10/10) If I search my messages for this term, it populates with pages of results!
  • Rules were made to be broken: (5/10) I understand this, however, I don’t like breaking rules. Otherwise, I would not have gotten the undergrad GPA that I did. Having said that, if the rule is stupid, then I’m not following it.
  • Challenge the status quo: (10/10) I don’t like to stand in line. I like to find ways to circumvent the line altogether and get myself to the front.
  • Have fun — it’s just working!: (9/10) I would change it to: “Have fun, it’s just a game”

Well, now you know a lot about me. Similarly, through this test, you can make a lot of well-educated guesses about others, and know how to approach them from the get-go. Talk about reading minds!

--

--

Pulkit Agarwal
GSBGen317S20

French-Indian… Global citizen — Stanford Alumni and Founder of StriveMath.com