Post 2 : Student Application Period

Ayush Agrawal
GSoC ’19
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2019

As mentioned in my previous blog post, I had selected TensorFlow as my final org. I joined various mailing lists to be updated of the current developments in the community and to start networking. I had already started working on my draft proposals along with contributing to TensorFlow’s GitHub Repository.

By 3 March, my initial draft proposal for the Android Project was ready and I sent it for review to Paige and other Community Members.

My Android Draft Proposal can be found here.

While contributing to the repo, I observed that there were many issues related to TensorFlow Lite on Raspi and how it works. I have worked on this before and thought that it would be a cool project to work during the summers to create a TFLite based Application which can run on a Raspi 3B+. I started working on a proposal for the project and by 19 March it was ready. I sent it to Mandar and he pointed out some updates and modifications after which the project looked quite comprehendible.

My Raspi Draft proposal can be found here.

About the Swift project, I was quite worried because I haven’t even touched Swift and to propose a full fledged GSoC proposal on the topic seemed quite a long shot. Still, I mailed Richard regarding my interest with a draft proposal (can be found here) and he was very very supportive to me. I have attached a screenshot of our conversation in case it helps you.

S4TF Conversation with Richard Wei

Student Application Deadline(9 April 2019)

I had been working on these 3 proposals since last 1.5 months and it was time to finally submit them for consideration.

I submitted all 3 of them and it was a long wait after that. 9 April was the last date for submission of proposals and the results were supposed to be announced on 6th of May.

1 month of nervousness + excitement + fear lied ahead of me. Nervousness and Excitement all of us can easily understand but fear? Why fear?

I don’t think it’s explicitly mentioned in Google Guidelines for 1st year Organizations but it so happens that generally, new organizations are not given more than 2–3 slots. For an organization like TensorFlow, which received over 1,500 expressions of interest this year, it’s natural to be apprehensive.That’s why fear.

Accepted Proposals Announced(6 May 2019)

1 month had somehow passed now. “somehow” is the keyword here. The results were to be announced at 23:30 IST.

To be continued…

--

--

Ayush Agrawal
GSoC ’19

Deep Learning Enthusiast | TensorFlow GSoC ’20 Mentor, GSoC ’19 Dev & GCI ’19 Mentor | BITS Pilani, India