Community Bonding Period

Nilesh Prasad
GSoC’17 Diary
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2017

The past few weeks have been quite amazing for me. The feeling of getting accepted in GSoC has been great. Google recently published the stats for this year’s GSoC selections , and it turns out that there are a total of 1318 selections in GSoC this year . It feels really proud to be one of them.

I already published a blog-post describing my journey till getting selected for GSoC’17. This post will be an update for all my activities during Community Bonding Period .

Announcement of GSoC results on 4th May marked the beginning of Community Bonding Period . This period is all about communicating with your mentors and the community in order to refine your project proposals and set up a plan for achieving the goals during the project.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to be very active in the community for the first two weeks , because of my end-semester exams , but thankfully , my mentors have been really cooperative. As soon as my exams were over, I looked over my pending PR in LibreEHR repository and sent a commit in order to fix the issue. During this time , I had been exploring the vast LibreEHR repository.

One of my major tasks during the Community bonding period was to list down all the dependencies of Smarty Template Engine. I created a Github issue for the same , for the purpose of discussing it with mentors. I also created a repository over github to test and learn Smarty Template Engine. After discussion with mentors, it has been decided that I’ll be using jQuery plugin for validation. Right now , I am making a complete plan of how would I achieve those goals .

So, finally community bonding period is about to get over and there are only 2 days left for the real fun period to begin. Coding period begins on 30th May, and I am really looking forward to have a great time ahead.

That’s it for now. I would posting weekly about my project progress from now on. Bye!

--

--

Nilesh Prasad
GSoC’17 Diary

Backend Engineering | Scalability | Distributed Systems