Getting Started

Riya Lohia
GSoC’18 with Sugar Labs
2 min readApr 28, 2018

Hola Folks,

I don’t usually write blogs, but this one is worth every bit of effort. This is about Google Summer of Code, which frankly needs no introduction, and to get selected for that is an achievement in itself. I’m going to code my way through the summers for Sugar Labs on Music Blocks. This blog is supposed to reflect my journey during the project. I’m going to post updates on my progress regularly via this blog. To ‘not blow things out of proportion’ I’ll start from the start.

About Music Blocks

Music Blocks is a collection of manipulative tools for exploring fundamental musical concepts in an integrative and fun way. In short, you can learn music in a easy way from Music Blocks.

I have been contributing to Music Blocks since December’17. I have always been attracted towards music and its fundamentals so contributing to Music Blocks was great way to work with both music and code.

About My Project

My project is titled “Going Beyond Equal Temperament in Music Blocks” under the guidance of Devin Ulibarri, Walter Bender, Sachiko Nakajima, Kieren MacMillan.

Currently Music Blocks only works on equal temperament. The aim of my project is to remove that barrier and introduce different types of temperament systems to Music Blocks. This will improve the ability of Music Blocks to work with the main three temperament systems namely equal, just intonation and meantone. The project also allows user to set custom temperament to set temperament parameters according to his choice.

Updates till now

  • Working on Chart of hierarchies which contains pitch, pitch number, frequencies of the corresponding pitches, scales/modes(sub-collection of chroma), chords(sub-collections of scales)(Link to the Chart).
  • Improved previous designs according to the chart of hierarchies.
Improved Widget Design

Thanks to Devin and Walter for helping me understand the concepts in a better way and for clearing the doubts regarding the same.

Link to the project: https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Summer_of_Code/2018/Going_Beyond_Equal_Temperament_in_Music_Blocks

--

--