OpenGPT: An Open-Source GPTs

Gary Nakanelua
GTA: Generative Tech Advances
2 min readDec 14, 2023

Build custom GPTs with open-source.

Introduction

At its first developer conference in November 2023, OpenAI unveiled GPTs…the ability for people to “create custom versions of ChatGPT that combine instructions, extra knowledge, and any combination of skills.”

When exploring something new, I start with a quick yet entertaining use case to explore. I have plenty of active interests. One is cooking, so for my first GPT creation experiment, I created a GPT that would recommend new food recipes. I wanted the recipes to be inspired by the cooking style of my favorite celebrity chef, Gordon Ramsay. Thus, GordonGPT was born.

It was easy to put together, and after some experimentation, I had a GPT that I was ready to share with the world! The only problem is that custom GPTs are only available to subscribers of ChatGPT Plus. So, I couldn’t share GordonGPT with friends, family and co-workers.

Enter OpenGPTs.

The Core Concept

OpenGPTs is an open-source project from LangChain that enables people to create custom GPTs, similar to OpenAI’s GPTs. It takes advantage of other open-source projects such as LangChain and LangServ. The result is an open-source effort that enables organizations to leverage the GPT creation (and sharing) experience, without requiring all of its people to have ChatGPT Plus accounts.

Personal Experimentation

I started by checking out a GCP-hosted version of OpenGPT. Inspired by the Beatles' latest song, Now and Then, I created a GPT to help me write songs in the Beatles' style.

The experience is straightforward, and I had my Beatles Bot up and running in a few minutes.

My next step will be to deploy a custom version of OpenGPT. There are an incredible amount of options available. I will change the experience so users won’t be overwhelmed by all the possibilities.

For the Experimenters

Check out the OpenGPT repo on GitHub for quick starts, examples, and more.

--

--

Gary Nakanelua
GTA: Generative Tech Advances

🚀MD of Innovation @ Blueprint - 🧬Open-Source Evangelist - 📘Author of Experiment or Expire - 🎸Bass player for Iris Drive - Co-host of Puget Sounds Podcast