Corporate Connect: How to Get Speakers for Student Organizations

Andzoa Jamus
gtakpsi
Published in
4 min readOct 3, 2018

An Interview with Aashal Dave

We spoke with Aashal Dave about his experiences with getting speakers for student organizations he was in, as well as his interests in Diversity and Inclusion, and the importance in learning from professionals in that field.

How did you become interested in CSPON?

I became interested in Corporate Sponsorship during my first semester as a Brother (Fall 2016). After hearing that Alumnus Brothers Murtaza Bambot and Nathan Dass had made so much money during their time(s) as VPF and CSPON director, respectively, I instantly became interested. CSPON is a necessary skill to learn in the long run, and there’s no better place to learn and make mistakes than in AKPsi. While I ultimately decided not to pursue the directorship during Spring 2017, I learned the ropes of CSPON as VPF during Summer 2017 — May 2018.

What are some of the skills you learned while in CSPON?

I learned how to prepare an elevator pitch for an organization, create a corporate sponsorship packet, price intangibles such as talent, culture, leadership, etc., cold-email recruiters, sales, negotiation, how to create a contract, and so much more!

Why did you want to join D&I?

I wanted to join D&I because I felt that it was time to take a greater stance against fundamental issues such as race relations, sexual harassment and assault, misinterpretation of others’ ideas, background, and culture, etc. I continued to see these issues surface on the front page of the Wall Street Journal and I always said: “I wish I could do more, but maybe I can’t because I’m just a number in the grand scheme of the things — what authority or power do I have to make a difference?” After continuing to say this, I realized that it doesn’t matter the scale of the impact that I make, because sometimes even the smallest of impacts can create the biggest of waves.

How difficult is it to get in contact with someone to speak at a student organization?

It’s extremely easy if you are able to locate their email address or connect with them on LinkedIn. Persistence is key.

What do you think the benefits are for hosting speakers on D&I in chapter?

The benefits of hosting speakers on D&I in chapter are to give Brothers a wake up call that racism, sexual assault/harassment, implicit biases, etc., are an actual thing that don’t only happen in the world far, far away from us, but actually happen in our organization (even during chapter), on our dorm room floors, in our work environments, and in our communities. I personally feel like we overlook these issues because we’re so busy in our day-to-day lives that we forget to be considerate and mindful. Chapter is the one time and place where we can all come together to take a break from our hectic schedules and reflect and learn from each other. By hosting speakers on D&I in chapter, Brothers can finally gain the value and experience that they may be missing during the other 6 of the 7 days of the week.

What would you suggest one do if they wanted to get in touch with a potential speaker for their organization?

If someone wants to get in touch with a potential speaker for their organization, I suggest 3 key rules:

  1. Create a list of potential speakers who align with your organization’s goals.
  2. Know the ask: why are you reaching out to the particular speaker? What do you hope to gain out of the speaker, and what is the mutual benefit that the speaker can gain by presenting at your organization, and what can the organization give back to the speaker?
  3. Prepare a solid email: send an email that is clear, concise, and colorful. By colorful, I don’t mean ROYGBIV Comic Sans — draft an email that is personable and strikes a connection with the individual. Often times, this email can be the deal breaker in regard to whether the individual will even be interested in setting up time to speak with you to learn more about why you’re reaching out to them.

--

--