Summer @ Stryker

Andzoa Jamus
gtakpsi
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2018

An Interview with Sam Bordy

Sam Bordy spent the summer of 2018 as an Engineering Intern at Stryker, a medical technologies firm. Since her internship is now over, we wanted to ask her a few questions about her experiences working as an intern, as well as what skills she learned and had to implement in a professional environment.

What company did you intern for this summer?

Stryker

What was your position? What did your job entail?

I was a R&D Engineering Intern for the Sports Medicine Business Unit. My job entailed working on concept development projects, testing, and sustaining projects. I had 2 main projects: Project Black Hole which was an early stage concept development project and Project Razor Blade which was a test method standardization project.

How was working in a medical device company in a professional setting?

It was amazing! I had a great time and learned a ton. I liked being able to see the impact of my work and my team was so smart and nice and welcoming.

What is something you learned?

I learned a lot about circuits, fluid dynamics and concept development. One of the biggest skills I learned was about decision making and evaluating the best move for a team to take next.

What types of skills did you have to use while working there?

I had to use a lot of broad thinking, basic mechanics, intuition and people skills. It was really an interesting compilation of everything I’ve learned in school and AKPsi combined.

Who would you recommend a position like this to?

Anyone interested in design and medicine. You definitely need to be able to see the bigger picture but also love getting your hands dirty in the small details. It was a very hands on job that really made me think about why I was doing everything I did.

Would you take a job like this again, or would you try a different position?

I will take a job like this again. I’m currently hoping to actually work for this group again and will hear about my return possibilities in October.

--

--