How to Cook Easy Recipes

Ava Huntoon
Guide to Life
Published in
5 min readMar 16, 2019

By: Ava Huntoon

For some people cooking is a hobby that they love to do and for others it’s a chore they need to do. This article is for the people who don’t enjoy cooking and aren’t good at it. I’m going to be following two recipes that claim they are easy. I’m going to be making the “Easiest Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe” and a “Basic Omelette Recipe.” I’ll evaluate how easy they actually are and how good they taste. I’ll also try and give any tips and tricks I can think of along the way.

Easy Foods That Everyone Should Learn How to Cook

Before I make the other recipes, I am going to be listing some foods that I think everyone should know how to cook.

  1. Eggs

Eggs are very quick and easy to make and there are many different ways to make them. The most you have to season eggs with is salt and pepper. My favorite thing to put on eggs is cheese.

2. Grilled Cheese

Grilled Cheese is also easy to make and it can be eaten as a full meal.

3. Mac and Cheese

Almost everyone loves mac and cheese and it’s not hard to make. There is even a box you can make it from that has most of the ingredients and step by step instructions.

4. Salad

If you are trying to eat healthy, salads are a good food to make and are very simple. The most work you have to do to make a salad is cut the vegetables or fruits you want to put into it.

5. Spaghetti

Spaghetti is another meal that isn’t hard to make. All you are required to do is boil noodles and then put tomato sauce on them when you are finished. You can also heat up the tomato sauce in a saucepan if you want.

Easiest Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • When you are baking it’s common to forget to preheat the oven and it’s not that big of a deal, but it is an inconvenience, so try your best to remember to preheat the oven.
  • I usually just set my butter out in room temperature to soften it but this recipe is telling me to microwave it for 40 seconds and that the butter should be completely melted. I was debating whether or not to melt the butter on a plate or in a bowl, and it should be pretty obvious, but melt it in a bowl
  • When you measure the brown sugar always remember to pack it into the measuring cup.
  • It makes the clean up afterwards easier if you put away the products after you finish using them, so in the end, all you will have to do is wash the dishes.
  • When you add the egg, make sure that you don’t get any of the shell in the mix. It helps if you crack the egg on a flat surface.
  • All the cookie recipes I’ve used before tell me to mix all of the dry ingredients together before adding them, but this recipe tells you to add each dry ingredient one by one. I like mixing them together first more because you can add all the dry ingredients gradually, so they don’t fly out of the bowl when you mix them.
  • I didn’t have any problems with the dry ingredients flying out but you have to mix it very slowly.
  • I never use an electric mixer once I add the chocolate chips because it makes a lot of noise and it worries me so I just stir them in with a spatula.

Dough test:

I think that the dough tastes great and so does my mom and sister. My problem with the dough was the consistency. It was a little bit too dry and stuck to my mouth and is flaky, and my sister thought the same. My mom said that the dough should be like that because it means it’s going to be better after it bakes. I don’t think I would make these cookies again because the dough is my favorite part, and I’ve definitely had better.

  • The recipe is telling you to measure the amount of dough to put on the pan but I’m not going to do that because it’s very time consuming. I just put a walnut size amount of dough onto the pan.
  • I always bake cookies the shortest amount of time it recommends because i like my cookies to be very chewy, and it’s important to check up on them because you don’t want them to burn.
  • I put the cookies in for around 8 minutes.
  • They turned being a round shape which was weird because they typically flatten out, so you might want to flatten them out if that bothers you.

Taste test:

These cookies were not my favorite and I wouldn’t recommend them. They tasted fine, nothing special. I really don’t like the texture of them. They are kind of dry and flaky on the inside. Overall, I would not make these cookies again. They were not any easier than any other cookies I’ve ever made, and they didn’t taste as good.

Basic Omelette Recipe

  • I only had one egg left, so I cut this recipe in half.
  • Like with the cookies, make sure you don’t get any of the eggshell into the bowl, and if you do then pick it out with your hands.
  • I can’t make a very accurate measurement with the salt anymore because I don’t have anything to measure 1/16 teaspoon so I’m just adding a pinch.
  • I prefer whisking eggs with a fork because I feel like it’s more efficient, but I could be wrong.
  • I still used 1 tablespoon of butter because it’s just being used to grease the pan.
  • I had to turn the heat down from medium-high to medium because the egg thickened right as it hit the pan so I didn’t have time to stir it. This is probably because I split the recipe in half so it heated up in less time.
  • I should’ve used less butter since I split the recipe because I ended up having to soak some of it up with a paper towel.

Taste Test:

I think the omelette is very good and was easy to make. I could definitely do this on a time crunch. When I eat omelettes I normally like to add things like spinach, tomatoes, and avocado so this was a little bland, but it was still good. Somebody that is not a good cook could make this omelette and have it turn out tasty. I will most likely be making this again.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe:

https://www.ihearteating.com/easiest-chocolate-chip-cookie-recipe/

Omelette Recipe: https://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/basic-omelette/53217ae9-8866-4584-8910-f54ca465b127

--

--