FREUD MUSEUM

Natalia Kasiarz
Guide2GB
Published in
4 min readApr 22, 2020

When I saw Sigmund Freud Museum in my Art Fund guidebook that I got with my National Art Pass subscription, I immediately got excited. Back when I was at school, we briefly covered him and other big thinkers of the turn of the 20th Century. It was fascinating how they shaped literature and art of the time. Since then, I always wanted to learn more about Freud and his theories.

I immediately went to have a look on their website to see what they have to offer. Like many museums, they hold temporary exhibitions. At the time it was all about “The Uncanny: A Centenary”. Because I like to subject myself to horror and get a little bit uncomfortable (I regret it later), I checked my calendar and found a perfect day for me to go and explore. My lovely housemate was also keen to go with me, after we had a quick chat in our shared kitchen, about our plans for the upcoming then weekend.

The museum is based in North West London, at 20 Maresfield Gardens, in picturesque Hampstead. It’s very close to Finchley Road tube station and many major bus routes. Because we live outside of London, it was easier for us to drive. After a little bit of research, I found out you can park on the street near the house for free after 3pm on Saturdays. It’s a residential area hence the parking restrictions. That still gave us plenty of time to completely submerge ourselves in the world of psychoanalysis. The journey there itself, gave us an opportunity to feel like we are travelling back in time, while driving past beautiful old buildings. To live in one of these would be a dream!

Sadly Freud didn’t get to spend a lot of time in London. He lived for majority of his life in Vienna, Austria. That’s where he developed his practice and conducted his research, that made him one of the most influential thinkers of the 20th Century. Only because of the rise of the Nazis and their prejudice and violence towards Jewish people, he was forced to flee in 1938, taking his family and belongings, escaping the threat of the concentration camps. He died year later in the very house I was about to enter. You can’t get closer to history.

Museum staff and volunteers are making you feel right at home as soon as you walk in. They are very helpful. Feel free to ask them for guidance, on how to make the most of your visit.

There are two areas that left it’s permanent mark on me. First is Sigmund Freud’s study. It gives you a glimpse into his mind. What I learned and liked the most, was his comparison of psychoanalysis to archeology. Treating his patients, was like excavating their minds to find hidden ‘treasures’. Room is filled with antiques, that used to aid his work.

The most important aspect of the room is THE couch. It’s the very same one that he used in Vienna to treat his patients, and that helped to open up the unconscious. I’m not surprised it worked, there is something really comforting about it. To the point, I was very tempted to just lay down and have a nap.

Second place in the house that I liked the most was the landing. It was something about the mixture of the golden hour, comfy chairs, big bay window and abundance of plants, that made me feel like I’m in the right place. I was imagining myself sitting there every day, with a good book and a cup of coffee (ok, maybe cake as well).

Upstairs is dedicated mainly to Anna Freud, his daughter. She was a pioneer in her own field. Her main focus was psychoanalysis in children. It’s thanks to her instructions, that the house got converted into the museum, after her death in 1982. It’s also a space, where they hold exhibitions as well as various courses, that you can attend to either further your studies, or just as a hobby (you can find more about it on their website, including the costs).

Exhibition about the uncanny was fun and very informative. It did exactly what it said it would do. It made me feel emotions of dread, horror, repulsion and distress (that’s how I like to spend my Saturday afternoons). Motive of Sandman was superb, and it really scared me and my friend.

When you are finished with exploring the house, there is a lovely gift shop filled with books and quirky things, that can provide you with some retail therapy and, at the same time will help to support the museum. Finally, go and rest in the beautiful garden, that haven’t changed much since Freud’s days.

Sadly all the museums are closed due to Covid-19 virus outbreak, but this doesn’t mean that you can’t plan for the future. Museum website is also full of information, learning materials and interesting blog posts to keep you going, until they reopen again in the nearest future.

Stay safe!

--

--

Natalia Kasiarz
Guide2GB
Editor for

This is a space where I post my thoughts on a range of subjects that interest me.