Eclectic Acoustic #3

Strings that Tie to You

Guitars, Pedals, and Music
2 min readJan 10, 2019

--

I’ve got a bit of a cold, as you can probably hear. Meh. I had originally planned something else for this week, but it involved a band a friend on here really likes, so I’ll let the cold clear a little before attempting that. ;)

This is one of the saddest songs I’ve ever heard. It’s deceptively hopeful sounding, but it’s really about a guy realizing he can’t both be apart from her and remember how many things in his life remind him of her (nearly everything), so, much like the movie it comes from, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, he makes the soul-crushing decision to bury any memories that connect to her, in effect, erasing her from his existence.

This isn’t actually the usual way I play this song. Usually, the picked strings form the intro also play over the first verse/chorus before the strumming starts, and the last verse/chorus goes back to the picked strings. I’ve got a node in my left wrist that sometimes presses a nerve and my fingers start going numb. I had to hurry the hell up once I felt that happening if I wanted to post it today (I’m trying to get better organzied!). Voila… a simplified version.

As I’ve previously mentioned, the idea behind this series is to produce a raw 1-take recording of a cover song, just me, an acoustic guitar, and a $9 pc microphone.

Since this is new, a bit of explanation:

Eclectic Acoustic is meant to represent the feeling of banging out/listening to someone bang out an impromptu performance of a song, rough and raw and exposed.

I’m not typically big on playing cover songs as a regular thing but I do enjoy taking a song and arranging a little acoustic version of it. The thing is, I only have limited patience with cover songs, so I’m not typically going to spend a lot of time making a ‘studio’ produced version or try to show off how amazing I am (I’m not), so these are going to be quick, fun, dirty, and not terribly serious…

like most of my relationships.

So, yeah, kind-of like jamming around a campfire. Sometimes I’m trying to do a good job, sometimes I’m trying to be funny. Occasionally, if the song really needs it, I’ll overdub another guitar or another vocal track.

--

--

Guitars, Pedals, and Music

Destroyed. Rebuilt. Broken, Mended. Annihilated. Remade. Nothing special.