Eclectic Acoustic #4

Whole Wide World

Guitars, Pedals, and Music
3 min readJan 17, 2019

--

My cold is sticking around for a few more days, it seems.

A bit of advice — if your voice is shot from being sick, spending hours trying to force it to work only makes it worse, and if you’re playing an acoustic guitar, as well, the same song over and over and over again leads to very sore fingers.

So, I surrendered.

The song here, by Wreckless Eric, is a rough little idea I recorded a couple of months back, so some of you may have already heard it. You may have heard it in the movie Stranger Than Fiction (GREAT movie… if you hate Will Ferrel then you really should see it, the man is actually a damn fine actor.. who knew!?) when Will Ferrel sings it to Maggie Gyllenhaal (one of the best scenes ever).

Yes, my pronunciation of Tahiti is deplorable (and that’s being kind), I’m aware. There’s actually a rational explanation for it that I’m happy to discuss should someone have a burning desire to know… it’s not a secret or anything, it’s just not very interesting.

This wasn’t something I recorded with the thought of other people listening to it. I just wanted to put down my particular arrangement (and some small lyrics changes) so when/if I decide to record it properly, I’ll have a playback demo.

Also, dear people of Tahiti, I vow to pronounce your lovely Island’s name much better than this, should I go at it again.

A fresh one is coming next Thursday (or sooner... I’m a grown-up! I can do what I want!).

💘

Since this is new, a bit of explanation:

Eclectic Acoustic is meant to represent the feeling of banging out/listening to someone bang out an impromptu performance of a song, rough and raw and exposed.

I’m not typically big on playing cover songs as a regular thing but I do enjoy taking a song and arranging a little acoustic version of it. The thing is, I only have limited patience with cover songs, so I’m not typically going to spend a lot of time making a ‘studio’ produced version or try to show off how amazing I am (I’m not), so these are going to be quick, fun, dirty, and not terribly serious…

like most of my relationships.

So, yeah, kind-of like jamming around a campfire. Sometimes I’m trying to do a good job, sometimes I’m trying to be funny. Occasionally, if the song really needs it, I’ll overdub another guitar or another vocal track.

--

--

Guitars, Pedals, and Music

Destroyed. Rebuilt. Broken, Mended. Annihilated. Remade. Nothing special.