I Never Thought I Would Be a Humor Writer

But the “Numbers” say otherwise

Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi

--

Photo by Lucas Mendes from Pexels

I inherited my beginner sense of humor from my father, and if he hadn’t ruined my mom’s life or been emotionally distant for the entirety of mine, I might have sent him a thank you note today. Not for the man feet though.

Other than my partner, and the handful of people who clap on my articles — a sign that they definitely liked it, and didn’t read it by mistake, no one thinks I’m funny. I’ve never received that compliment, and instead always been met with furrowed perplexion at my deadpan sarcastic comments.

It’s cute when Chandler does it. It leads to the 1247th Friends rerun. But sadly, real life doesn’t work that way. And I never thought I’d write it.

Before anyone gets too excited, let me point out that my “numbers” aren’t those of success. In the three years I’ve spent on this platform, I’ve had one viral-ish article and enjoyed the top writer tag for a month, courtesy of it.

Instead, I refer to the pieces I’ve written, which have sneaked upon my inner critic, allowing me the confidence to call this my go-to genre. It started small, jokes here and there to diffuse the tension in my darker pieces and then it turned into full-blown articles, and then, I couldn’t stop.

--

--