I’m Contemplating Designing an Anxious Introvert Badge

For your safety and my sanity

Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi

--

Photo by Cup of Couple from Pexels

I have this image of myself (in my head), a person wearing black, lost in her own thoughts, not fitting in but still carrying on, and most importantly having the message printed on my forehead, “Next, Please” for any onlookers. I’m not the one you make small talk with, befriend or have any type of meaningful human interaction with. You’re better off skipping.

When you look at me, I don’t know what you notice. I expect you to not see anything, only a blob of darkness moving toward you which is necessary to avoid accidents. I don’t wish to exist in this world and I have nothing to say.

On the contrary, there’s something about my face and mannerisms that I haven't quite mastered yet which exudes the opposite. Even toddlers waddle toward me, mischievous smiles plastered on their faces and there’s no way for me to communicate how terrified I am of them. I swerve.

I went to the hairstylist yesterday, ten months after my last awkward encounter, but with loftier challenges. New part of the city, new branch, same weird me. A venture into the wild on a sleepy Tuesday afternoon.

Monochromatically ensembled in navy as if we weren’t in the middle of a heat wave, I plugged in my AirPods checking my protective gear…

--

--