POETRY

No Moon Nights

Here, there and in between

Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

Photo by Ricardo Oliveira from Pexels

It’s limitlessly dark and clear,
The fog has finally risen.
Diminished slowly below the line,
Gone over to the other side.

Thought I was done wondering,
Grounded in some reality,
Future’s set in motion, but,
Familiar friends come knocking.

While drifting in between,
I longed for feeling the pain,
Currents surge through my body,
As if for the very first time.

I cared about rhyming,
About following my rules,
Broken loose and wandering,
Too lost to come back home.

I stare eastward all night,
Up until the five a.m. light,
You were a no-show,
All the signs were disguised.

Arcturus shines brightly,
Unaware of your existence,
Embedded firmly in its position,
Secure in its divine purpose.

--

--