Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2021

--

One of the unlisted side-effects of the Covid vaccine is that you cannot type. And more than the other symptoms, this one is driving me crazy. As it turns out, my mind is more of a mess when I can’t write.

Photo by Fallon Michael from Pexels

In the past couple of years, the only other times I haven’t written, when I really wanted to, has been due to burnout, a physical one or a creative one. But now, courtesy of the first dose, I physically cannot write, and that’s a weird problem to have to deal with.

My head feels full — like an overloaded, corrupted memory card, and I don’t have space for coherent thoughts.

Before this, I was looking up how to time travel in Animal Crossing, and I started thinking about what I would do first if I had the opportunity to do so in real life. Unsurprisingly my first reflex was to go back in time and watch a TV show for the first time like The End of the F…ing World.

Next, I thought about going back to Friday and writing a lengthy personal essay. Now wouldn’t that be brilliant?

For some reason, when I got the jab on Saturday morning, I believed that I would be back on the grind by Monday. For anyone else, I would have recommended 3 to 7 days rest, depending on their symptoms. I would ask them to err on the side of caution.

But apparently, I wouldn’t take my own advice.

--

--