Static and Other Noises

Blending into the perfect background of stillness

Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi

--

Photo by Lisa Fotios from Pexels

When I write, I prefer acoustic songs to keep playing in the background. It started somewhat naturally, and now I stop when the song skips, pausing for the rhythm to kick in as if I cannot type or form thoughts without it. If I think about it for a second, the words and words should clash, with both pieces being heavy on them, but they don’t. They create music instead.

I also wonder if there are times when I don’t know what is playing — like I’m so involved in typing that I have no space to entertain anything else. But if I am honest, that has never happened. I depend on the score like oxygen.

There was this character in The Good Wife, who I can’t quite place and I am too lazy to google. He was paranoid about being listened on by the government and played music on a tiny speaker all the time. He called it his own background score. He’d gotten used to the compositions of Bach.

It was 2:00 a.m. in the night, and I’d had a bad day. Not too uncommon at that point. And although I did listen to music a lot back then, I hadn’t looked at it this way. Think about it, it adds a dimension to your story.

When you watch a movie or show, and someone does a great job of placing the right track at the right moment, it elevates the…

--

--