POETRY

What We Can See in the Dark

Sehnsucht, succour and and suspension

Debdutta Pal
Gumusservi
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Photo by Luis Quintero by Pexels

The night’s abuzz with sounds,
Scary at first, looping soon,
This is not the same view,
Yet draws me in all the same.

I’m not here, taking this risk,
Moves I wouldn’t otherwise make,
Stay in the horizontal,
Soaking up the pain instead.

Like a character in solace,
Maybe chasmic contemplation,
Seeing the beauty flicker,
After a discursive time in the dark.

She doesn’t mind the cold,
The exposure either,
Words offer ample comfort,
The unfamiliar picks up pieces.

The holes in my heart,
Questions that grow louder,
Gaps left in my journeys,
Feels less like a sentence.

The darkness envelopes,
Clouds passing over the moon,
Yet the eye can witness,
As much as it needs to see.

--

--