If I were CEO of Google

Gus
Gus Montes
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2018

Today I saw a Forbes.com piece titled “If I were CEO of Google: A 4-step action plan to Dominate and Transform Retail”

I believe the plan although valid, is unnecessarily complex.

I hereby present a much simpler alternative Alphabet (or FB, or TSLA, or BABA, or any “Tech Titan”/company with an iconic founder for that matter) could use to dominate US retail.

Step 1:

Acquire/Merge Walmart.

Step 2:

Instantly become a 2–3 trillion dollar company (based on Amazon’s current price to sales multiple)

Step 3:

Watch competing retailers market capitalization fall by around 30–60% on news of the acquisition and use this discount to acquire them as well.

Step 4:

See their revenues reward your stock with a 4–5x price to sales multiple as opposed to 0.2x when they were independent just moments ago.

Step 5:

Repeat in other industries as needed.

Bonus:

Be on the lookout for companies announcing they’ll cut on buybacks and dividends in order to better compete, their stocks will fall by at another 10–15%.

Now, my plan for action might be one full step longer but I do believe this plan to be easier to execute and it could lead to creating the first 10–20 trillion dollar company in history much faster.

Finance, man. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

--

--

Gus
Gus Montes

Brilliance is equally distributed, Opportunity is not.