You are not as important as you think you are

And that's great!

Gustavo Tanaka
Gustavo in English

--

I’ve always carried the weight of the world on my back.

I felt responsible for things completely out of line of my age.

I thought I was responsible for keeping my parents happily married, for holding my whole family together. Whenever anyone had an argument, regardless of whom or what, I felt I was at fault.

I thought I was responsible for the lives of whoever worked for me. Whenever I had to fire someone, I felt I was actually harming that person and his or her whole family with it.

I thought I was responsible for any failed relationship I was once in. If it somehow didn’t evolve, once again, I had no one to blame but myself.

I thought my friends would deeply suffer if I skipped a birthday or didn’t return a phone call. If I couldn’t attend and event, I had to call whoever was in charge to report why.

I felt guilty. Guilty for all those things and much more.

And that’s why I used to have such a heavy burden on my back.

A load I couldn’t possibly carry being 30 years-old. Nor could my 5-and-½-feet-or-so height.

Then I realized one thing that changed my life for good.

I am not as important as I thought I was.

I’d go through situations that other people involved couldn’t care less.

I kept thinking of anything that would have eventually happened days or months earlier and I still thought people were talking about me.

And the more I realized that people didn’t care about me, the more I could see that that was not restricted to me, but to practically anyone.

A friend of mine once told me that she was in pain because she thought her old boyfriend started smoking weed when she broke up with him.

Another one is sure that she’s the reason why her parents are still married.

Another friend is worried sick about skipping dinner with his in-laws, afraid of letting them down.

Or the other one that keeps postponing his plans to live abroad because he thinks his family need him around.

We’ve turned into slaves of ourselves. Slaves of the self-image we have projected.

The truth is one is responsible his or her own life.

Should anyone be suffering for some reason, well, it’s that person’s task to solve it.

The human being if much more complex than what we normally take. We cannot possibly be able to understand everything that goes on in someone else’s life. There are thousands of variables. Childhood traumas, parenting issues, past lives, karma, soul treats. So many things we don’t know, but we act as if we actually did. As if any behavior or deviation were responsible for the misery in anyone’s entire life.

I say no! It’s not like that.

You’re not as important as you think you are.

You’re not responsible for anyone’s life but your own. Not even your parents or your children`s life.

Every being came to this world to evolve and to free itself out of any tied chains. Every one of us is here to get loose from our own illusions.

You can help anyone you wish to. But things don’t happen because of you.

Take it easy on yourself. Life gets easier this way.

I stopped thinking I was accountable for anything. I realized I didn’t matter as much as I thought I did.

It’s when you realize that you’re not such a big deal that you can truly be yourself. That you can be your true self.

And that changes everything! Being who you really are is the key of life.

When I finally got it, I could manage living a life more easy going.

I’ve had my ups and downs. There are times I think I’m the king of the world. And that I’m responsible for anything that happens in anyone’s lives.

But, just for being aware of it, just for acknowledging that I don’t matter as much, I can reset my perspectives and I can understand I’m just a piece of the puzzle. Like a single cell in the whole human body.

A tiny piece of the Earth.

Special thanks to Gabriel Galo that helped with the translation

--

--