Li Lu, Ray Dalio, Jorje Lemann, William Robertson, Tim Ferris , Atul Gawande, Gregg Robins, Nithin Noria, David Miliband

Guy Spier
Guy Spier
Published in
4 min readMay 1, 2017

--

Cannibals Update

Joanna Jin, a Yale Undergrad recently interned with me. She wrote up a white paper on Willis Lease Finance. Please feel free to share your reactions, insights and comments, either with me or with Joanna and we will incorporate and re-share.

TED 2017

I recently attended the TED Conference and I now have a “Tedache”.

1*kmr9erwlr5bycq2bviqqlg

TED 2017: My 5 Big Takeawaysmedium.com

1. Li Lu: Do they deserve my capital?

2. Tim Ferris. Stocicism and Fear Mapping.

3. Atul Gawande: Find a Coach.

4. David Milliband: It’s not just about the Refugees.

5. Rabbi Sacks: be true to your faith and a blessing to others, regardless of their faith.

Other Speakers.

These were not the only ideas worth sharing: A number of other speakers had a huge impact on me, including:

Social ray dalio principles share banner

Ray Daliowww.principles.com

Ray Dalio shared his principles of “radical transparency”. I’m looking forward to reading his book.

Laura Galante of FireEye: Russia and the 2016 Election

www.fireeye.com

Laura Galante gave an extraordinary talk on the new ways that the Russians and other bad actors are hacking our very minds for their political aims

Dollar Street

www.gapminder.org

Anna Rosling, the daughter-in-law of Hans Rosling gave an talk on Dollar street which puts the comparative lives of all of us on this planet into perspective: something worth showing to our children.

In case you missed it day 3

In Case You Missed It: The themes that echoed through TED2017blog.ted.com

If you want to get closer to the TED 2017 speakers, I have created a spreadsheet of all the speakers along with some ways to get in touch with them which you can view here:

Books

414jwlgtxgl. sl500 aa130

Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrowwww.amazon.com

Noah Yuval Harari’s Homo Deus is the book I’m reading right now. I started off thinking that this was a quick and dirty second act to Sapiens. But I was wrong: it’s excellent.

511 sjiuuil. sl500 pisitb sticker arrow big topright 35  73 ou01 aa130

The 3G Way: Dream, People Culturewww.amazon.com

I’m also reading this. A must-read for all serious investors. And my friend, William Green tells me that I need to read Edward Thorpe’s new book, “A Man for All Markets

Hqdefault

Nitin Nohria Interviews Jorge Paulo Lemann and Warren Buffettwww.youtube.com

This is a gem of an interview.

Recognizing that I may be wrong

My friend and fellow VALUEx’er, Will Robertson sent me this wonderful piece on the importance of doubt in investing. Let me know if you would like an introduction.

Fullsizeoutput 4f07

Live Messy Livesfypster.com

Another friend of mine, Gregg Robins gave a wonderful TED-style talk on living messy lives.

Zero Management Fees

Do you know someone who does not charge a management fee? We want to compile a solid list so that my CFO, Mark Chapman can write a kick-ass article or white paper on the topic. If you do, you here to fill out the form here: https://aqfd.wufoo.com/forms/q9yuz3z0lbghpz/

Politics

Theresa May’s Snap Election is an opportunity for the EU

medium.com

The EU should initiate a temporary restriction on the free movement of people.

My Most Unpopular Idea: Be Nice to Trump Voters

www.nytimes.com

Lastly.

Why Successful Individuals always Dress the Same

My wife complains that I dress the same. I like it. So does Mark Zuckerberg and so did Steve Jobs: Now I have backup.

09heads2 master768

Well-Made Coffee Migrates to Midtown Manhattanwww.nytimes.com

Eventually, the whole world will be able to appreciate good coffee. Meanwhile, it’s good to know that good baristas have finally made their way to midtown.

Varlen Pen

Varlen Pen: Korean Museum of Contemporary Art

If you liked this image, and would like to see more in your inbox, sign up here

--

--